Bassett Family Association Database

Notes


Tree:  

Matches 3,601 to 3,650 of 52,539

      «Prev «1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 ... 1051» Next»

 #   Notes   Linked to 
3601 Obituary from Hinsdale Historical Society
MRS. BASSETT PASSES AWAY
Dies at the ripe Age of Sixty Years - Prominent Member of Hinsdale Society

In the death of Mrs. O.P. Bassett, which occurred at seven o'clock,
last Saturday, Hinsdale society has suffered the loss of a worthy woman and a
noble friend. She had been gradually failing for the past two years, but about
two months ago the disease assumed a serious aspect and recovery was
considered improbable. The end came quietly and during the closing hours of
her life, her bedside was surrounded by her husband, her daughter and a few
intimate friends, whose lives she had made a blessing by kind, self-
sacrificing acts and her tender solicitude.
The funeral was held at two o'clock, Monday afternoon, from the family
residence on Sixth street. The rooms were filled with the numerous friends of
the deceased, who came to mourn the loss of the one they loved so wel
handsome coffin, upon which were laid in fragrant abundance floral tributes to
the departed, contained the remains. The burial was at Oak Forest and English
violets completely hid the earth of the grave from view, while expensive
floral pieces and the rarest of cut flowers diffused their fragrance through
the large tent, which protected the mourners and friends from the insanely
cold weather. Rev. C.F. Elliott conducted the services, which were most
impressive and of a beautiful sadness. A husband and daughter, Mrs. Cha
Washburn, survive the deceased.
Mrs. Betsey M. Bassett was sixty years old, having been born in
Syracuse, N.Y., April 15th, 1836. She came west with her parents while a mere
child and settled in DeKalb county, near Sandwich. She then removed to
Lockport, Ill, where she was married to O.P. Bassett, then editor of the
Sycamore True Republican. Coming to Chicago in 1867, she lived with her
husband there, until they moved to Hinsdale in 1887. In her ten year's
residence here, Mrs. Bassett drew around her a large circle of sympathetic
friends.

DEATH OF MRS. BASSETT (Jan. 23, 1897)

Again the Angel of Death has come into our midst and taken one of our
best beloved away from a family whose home life was made beautiful by h
presence and ministry, and from a community whose every word of her was
praise.
Mrs. Bassett who although able as late as the middle of December to be
about her home duties, has been a great sufferer for the past two years, but so
bravely did she bear her pain that those who knew her best were almost wholly
unprepared for the news of her death which occurred at seven o'clock Saturday
morning. Her daughter sat by her bedside all the previous night which w
passed away gently as if falling to sleep.
Mrs. Bassett has been a resident of Hinsdale for years; and in that
time the whole community have learned to love her for her kind and gent
words and deeds, her thoughtfulness for her friends, and her charity to all
whom she knew to be in need.
Friends of earlier days came from far and near on Monday to pay a last
tribute of affection to her, and all Hinsdale joined with them in sympathy for
her family whose loss to them is irreparable.
The funeral services were held at her home and were conducted by the
Rev. C.F. Elliott who in a few eloquent words recounted Mrs. Bassett's
excellencies after which the burial took place at Oak Fores

DEATH NOTICE
Mrs. Betsey Bassett

Betsey M. Bassett, wife of Mr. Orland P. Bassett, died at her home in
Hinsdale yesterday morning after a short illness. Mrs. Bassett was born at
Syracuse, N.Y., April 15, 1836. Coming West after the death of her parents,
when quite young, she located at Lockport, Ill., where she was marri
1859. Her husband and one child, Mrs. Charles Washburn, survive her. Mr
Bassett's life had been one devoted to charities and her death is regretted by
a large circle of friends.
 
Shelton, Betsey M. (I07707)
 
3602 OBITUARY OF JESSE L. SPARKS
Shelby News 21 Oct 1981

Jesse L. Sparks, 67, Hilltop Village died Thursday afternoon at Major
Hospital. He had been ill since December.
Mr. Sparks was a retired member of the International brotherhood of
Electrical workers. He also was a member of Moose Lodge No. 225, Hartfo
City, Indiana.
Born Aug. 5, 1914, in Angola, he was the son of John and Ellen
(Stodtlmeir) Sparks. He was married in March of 1945 to Nellie Bassett, who
survives.
Other survivors include a son, Jimmie Sparks, Lisbon Falls, Maine; a
brother, Harry Sparks, Kissimmee, Fla, two sisters, Mrs. Joseph Valentine and
Mrs. William Scott, Hartford City; and two grandchildren.
The funeral is set for 10:30 a.m. Monday at Murphy Mortuary with the
Rev. Marvin Isley officiating. Interment will be in the Bennett Cemetery.
Friends may call from 2 p.m. to 8 p.m. Sunday. 
Sparks, Jesse L. (I21029)
 
3603 OBITUARY OF MRS. G.D. BASSETT

After only three days of sickness, Mrs. Hester Ann Bassett died at her
residence one mile south of Bricelyn at 2 o'clock Tuesday morning, March 8,
1910 of stomach trouble and heart failure, aged 64 years lacking five days.
The funeral services were 1 o'clock at the Baptist Church in Bricelyn, Rev.
I.H. Darnell officiating. Interment was made in the Clayton cemeter
Hester Ann Salley was born April 13, 1846 in Kenneback county, Maine.
When she was but three weeks old her parents removed to Dodge County,
Wisconsin, making the trip from Buffalo to Milwaukee by way of the great lakes
and traveling by ox team to Dodge County. When she was eight years old, her
parents settled in Olmstead County, Minnesota, where she grew up to womanhood.
At the age of 19 she was united in marriage to G.D. Bassett of the same place,
they having been school mates from childhood. The marriage took place March
31, 1865. On July 17, 1867, they arrived in Faribault county, and settled on a
homestead in Seely township where they have continually resided. She was the
mother of seven children, as follows: Mrs. Lettie Olson, Bricelyn,; Mrs. Effie
Gifford, Fallon, Montana; Mrs. Dora Gibson, Palms, Mich., Mrs. Hettie Jones,
Balaton, Minn.; Mrs. Bertha Rendall, Prescott, township and Mrs. Georgia
Trembel of Waukegan, Ill. Besides her husband and children she leaves four
sister and two brothers to mourn her death. At the age of 20 years, Mrs.
Bassett united with the Methodist Episcopal Church in which faith she passes
to the beyond.
Mrs. Bassett, to use a homely expression, was a home body. She was not
only a kind and indulgent wife and mother but was always relied upon for a
helping hand by her neighbors in time of sickness and need and Aunt Hester as
she was usually called never disappointed. She was a good woman and will be
greatly missed, not only by her relatives but by a host of friends. 
Salley, Hester Ann (I06978)
 
3604 OBITUARY OF MRS. HERMAN BASSETT

Permelia A. Jenkins was born in a log cabin in Victory, Cayuga County,
New York, Dec. 1, 1833. She moved with her parents to Columbia County, New
York, and in 1846 to Lee, Berkshire County, Mass. She graduated at the academy
in Lee and taught school several years. August 28,1854 she married Herm
Bassett and moved to Sterling, Illinois the same year to become a farmer's
wife.
She taught several terms of school after her marriage. She joined the
Presbyterian church with her husband in 1855. They moved to Morrison, Illinois
in 1862 and to Strawberry Point, Iowa in October 1866, and the remainder of
her life has been spent upon the farm in Fayette County, and in this city.
She leaves to mourn her loss her husband, Deacon Herman Bassett and
four children; Mrs. C.A. Platt of near Edgewood, Charles H. Bassett who
resides on the same old farm west of town. Three children died several years
ago; E.J. Bassett in 1895, Rhoda M. in 1868 and Nathan A. in 1876. She leaves
besides a number of grandchildren, one brother in Clearfield, Iowa, and one in
Beaumont, California, and a stepmother in Calumet, Iowa.
Mrs. Bassett was a lifelong, conscientious and faithful Christian, the
highest and most excellent thing that can be said of any person. She was a
charter member of the First Congregational Church of Strawberry Point, Iowa, and
her death leaves but two of the original members living. Thru all her long life on
the farm six miles away from town, it was very seldom that she and her honored
husband, Dec. Bassett were absent from the Sabbath services. She was a fine
Bible teacher and for years taught a class of boys in the Sabbath School and
many are the grown men scattered about in different places who remember her
cordial friendship and faithful instruction in sacred things.
She was made a life member of the American Bible Society in 1861 and
took a life long interest in the great work of the Society. She had good
health till about time she left the farm in 1896 and moved to this cit
Mr. and Mrs. Bassett celebrated the Golden anniversary of their
marriage August 28, 1904, having spent fifty golden years in honoring
cherishing and loving each other.
Mrs. Bassett had been ailing for some years but her serious sickness
began last fall and a complication of diseases became at length prophetic of
the end. After a long winter of suffering, weariness and pain, all of which
she bore with Christian fortitude and patience, she passed away peacefully at
3 P.M. Wed. April 5th, 1905, aged 71 years 4 months and 5 day
A look of sweet peace settled upon her face as the spirit departed and
she died with the perfect faith and trust in Him who had been her comfort and
guide all her life time. Her death comes not only as a great loss to the
church of which she was a member, but also to the entire community in which
for nearly forty years she had lived a life of noble Christian womanhoo
leaving a memory sweet to her friends and a life a benediction to all who knew
her. 
Jenkins, Permelia Ann (I06177)
 
3605 Obituary of Mrs. Nellie Woods Lester

Nellie Woods Lester was born on a farm in Decature County, Iowa, near
Grand River Dec. 23, 1874, and died Nov. 15, 1973, at the Good Samaritan
Center in Indianola, Iowa at the age of 98.
She was one of nine children born to William McCandless Woods and Emma
Bassett Woods. A biographical sketch of her parents is given in the book
Biographical and Historical Record of Ringgold and Decature Counties",
published in 1887 by the Lewis Pub. Co. of Chicago. When she was 14, the
family came to Indianola, and in 1895 purchased a farm four and one-half miles
south of Indianola, now owned by Mrs. Beulah Durham. Mr. Woods died that same
year, leaving his widow and seven surviving children who continued to live
there for a number of years.
On October 28, 1903, Nellie was united in marriage at the Woods home
to a neighbor, Frank Lewis Lester, the only child of Wiley W. Lester and Mary
Starbuck Lester. Frank and Nellie lived on the Lester farm until 1919 when
they came to Indianola to live at 309 W. Second so their three children could
attend school. They moved back to the farm in 1925. After the sudden death of
her husband in Jan. 1930, Nellie continued to manage the farm with her sons.
She was a long time member of the First and Trinity United
Presbyterian Church, and of the Round Grove P.T.A. and Club. Her love a
devotion to family and friends was outstanding.
Besides her husband, she was preceded in death by her brothers Will,
Ralph, Freddie and Sidney, and by her sisters, Lillie, Mildred and Edn
The last years of her life were spent in the Crouse Nursing Home, in
the home of her daughter and son-in-law, Doris and Walter Lawson of Indianola,
and in the Good Samaritan Center.
In addition to her daughter, she is survived by her son Orville and
his wife, Gwendolyn, and son Harold, of R. 1, Indianola; a brother, Hugh Woods
of Fullerton, California; four grand children; two great grandchildren; four
nieces and four nephews.
Funeral services were conducted by Mr. Arthur Eady of Indianola on
Nov. 19, at the Overton Funeral Home. Interment was in the Indianola Cemetery.


(Notes by her daughter Doris)
Nellie was married at the home of her mother to Frank by J.T. Hopkins,
Minister. Her sister Edna Said: The family bought property in Indianola where
the former A.T.O house is. It must have been just after they came from Decatur
County. The grandfather, H.S. Woods, came from Knoxville, Ill. to Grand River
and bought property (160 acres each) for each of their children at two dollars
an acre. The book "Biographical and Historical Record, Ringgold and Decatur
Counties" states that H.S Woods entered 1300 acres in Decatur County in 1854.
In 1910, Nellie's mother Emma Woods and sister Edna and brother Ralph
left their farm and moved to E. 1st St. in Indianola for one year and then to
the northwest corner of S. Jefferson and Highway #92 (E.2nd). From there Emma
and son Ralph moved to 311 W. 2nd to be near Nellie and Frank Lester at 309 W.
2nd. 
Woods, Nellie (I07738)
 
3606 Obituary week of 11 Oct 2001
Pauline B. Sawyer

Pauline B. Sawyer, 88, of 4188 Wildwood Dr., Clarence, died Oct. 3, 2001 at
home. She was born the daughter of Paul and Carolyn (Wells) Bassett on March
23, 1913 in Corning, N.Y. She was married to Edwin M. Sawyer who was a former
manager of the Philadelphia Phillies. She was a former member of the Kings
Daughters. She is survived by her two daughters, Dale S. (Roger) Young of Mt.
Morris, Dyann (William) Weikert Sr. of Williamsville; five grandchildre
Robert (Deborah) Young of Tennessee, Bruce (Elizabeth) Young of Walwort
Andrew (Jennifer) Young of California, William Weikert Jr. of Rochester and
Wendy (Tim) Transiscus of Williamsville; three great grandchildren, Sarah and
Benjamin Young of Tennessee and Katy Transiscus of Williamsville and several
cousins. She was predeceased by her husband Edwin M. Sawyer in 1997. No prior
calling. Graveside services to be held Friday, Oct. 12 at the Mt. Morris
Cemetery at 11:30 am, with the Rev. Carin Farmer officiating. Memorials may be
made to the United Church of Mt. Morris, State Street, Mt. Morris, NY 14510.
Arrangements by the John W. Martin Funeral Home, 37 Chapel St. in Mt. Morris. 
Bassett, Pauline Beatrice (I19105)
 
3607 Obituary, Brown County, Indiana, Wednesday, Oct. 19, 1983

Dudley M. Bassett, 73, a two year resident of Lake Kathryn, Florida,
died Monday at his home. He had been in failing health for some tim
He was born and raised in Bartholomew County and formerly lived in
Johnson and Brown counties.
Funeral service will be conducted at 11 a.m. Friday at Flynn and Maquire
Funeral Home in Franklin. Calling hours will be from 2 to 9 p.m. Thursday.
Burial will be at the Garland Brook cemetery in Columbus.
Bassett was born Dec. 28, 1909 in Bartholomew County, the son of
Calvin Claude and Josie Mae Quick Bassett. He married Nellie Gatewood and she
survives. He was a former Master Mason of Nineveh Masonic Lodge and had worked
as a mechanic at Camp Atterbury. He had farmed in Brown County and owned a
store at Rosstown and Ogilville before retiring.
Other survivors include three sons, Robert J. and Gregory Bassett of
Columbus, Elmer Bassett of Pennsylvania; two daughters, Carolyn Sanders of
Columbus and Shirleen Shaw of Elizabethtown; three sisters, Dorothy Ford of
Columbus, Mary Fish of Elizabethtown, and Alta Canary of Franklin, a
grandchildren and six great-grandchildren. 
Bassett, Dudley Martin (I20999)
 
3608 Obituary, Jane Cole Bassett, Sempronius, 1904

The death of Jane Cole, wife of Joseph L. Bassett, occurred at her
home on the Dresserville Rd. Age 69 years 6 months. Member of the
Congregational Church. Besides her husband Mrs. Bassett leaves two daughters,
Mrs. W. J. Moss of Cortland, and Miss Bertha Bassett. Buried in Indian Mound.
Date of death, Jan. 20, 1904. Date of birth, June 13, 1833. Daughter of Noah &
Lydia (White) Cole. 
Cole, Jane (I09045)
 
3609 Obituary, Sabbath Recorder, 13 Aug 1951

Bassett - William H., son of Samuel Clarke and Phoebe L. Coon Bassett, was
born October 21, 1863, at Unadilla Falls, N.Y., and died at Bethesda Hospital,
Hornell, N.Y., May 27, 1951.

Mr. Bassett came to Alfred at the age of twenty to attend college and h
lived there ever since. He married Myrta Bliss of Richburg in 1886 and worked
for a time in her father's glove factory in Alfred. Later he learned the
tailor's trade, which he practiced all his life. For about forty-five years he
was manager of the Alfred Telephone and Telegraph Company. He was active in
civic duties, serving as a member of the town board, as clerk of the school
board for a time, and as justice of the peace for twenty years.

He joined the First Alfred Seventh Day Baptist Church by baptism in November,
1887. Survivors are: one daughter, Mrs. James Evans, of Alfred; three sons,
Leon B., of Alfred, William D. of North Canton, Ohio; and Robert B. of
Darlington, Pa.; also eight grandchildren and six great grandchildre

Funeral services were held at the First Alfred Seventh Day Baptist Chur
conducted by his pastor, Rev. Everett T. Harris, with burial in Alfred Rural
Cemetery. 
Bassett, William Henry (I12576)
 
3610 Obituary, Sabbath Recorder, 30 Jan 1950

Bassett - Myrta S. Bliss, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. E.S. Bliss, was born in
Richburg, N.Y., April 15, 1866, and died in the Bethesda Hospital, Hornell,
September 27, 1949, after a lingering illness.

On September 14, 1886, she was married to William H. Bassett, with whom she
built her happy home. She spent her entire life in unselfish service to the
Church and the community; she was ever quick and hearty in her response to
human need and suffering from whatever source need came. She had a host of
friends, as well as her immediate family, who will sorely miss her. She is
survived by her husband; three sons, Leon B.; W. Donald of Canton, Ohio;
Robert B. of Darlington, Pa.; one daughter, Mrs. James Evans; one sister, Miss
Edna Bliss; and one brother. Dr. T. Coit Bliss.

Mrs. Bassett took advantage of educational opportunities offered by Alfred
University and thus prepared herself to fill well the many calls made upon her
time and talents. Her loss will be deeply felt.

Farewell services were conducted in the Church before a large congregation,
and the body was laid to rest in Alfred Rural Cemetery.

Democrat and Chronicle, Rochester, N.Y., Wednesday, September 28, 1949
Mrs. William Bassett

Alfred ? Mrs. William H. Bassett, 83, died Tuesday (Sept. 27, 1949) at Bethesda Hospital, Hornell.
She had been ill health since 1944 and at the hospital since Sept. 12. Mrs. Bassett was born Myrtha S. Bliss, April 14, 1866, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. E.S. Bliss. The family moved to Alfred in 1881 and on Sept. 14, 1886 she married William H. Bassett. In 1902 when her husband became manager of Alfred Telephone and Telegraph Co., she assumed position of chief operator which she held until retirement in 1944. She was a member of the Ladies Aid Society of Alfred, Seventh Day Baptist Church, Order of Amaranth, a past matron of Kanakadea 626, OES, and past member of Good Templers and the Evangelical Society.
Surviving besides her husband are three sons, Leon B. Bassett, Alfred, W. Donald Bassett, North Canton, Pa., Robert B. Bassett, Darlington, Pa.; one daughter, Mrs. James R. Evans, Alfred; eight grandchildren and six great-grandchildren.
Funeral services will be at 2 o?clock Saturday afternoon in village church. The Rev. Edgard Van Horn will officiate, burial in Alfred Rural Cemetery.
 
Bliss, Myrta Stella (I12577)
 
3611 OBITUARY, SHELBYVILLE NEWS

Services for Mrs. Nellie May Sparks, 62, Hilltop village, who died
Friday afternoon at W.S. Major Hospital shortly after admission, will be at
2:30 p.m. Sunday at the Murphy Mortuary. The Rev. Don Rissler will officiate.
Burial will be in Bennett Cemetery.
Friends may call after 5 pm today. A daughter of Edward and Lettie
(Baker) Bassett, Mrs. Sparks was born May 14, 1920, in Shelby County. She was
married in 1945 in Batesville to Jesse L. Sparks, who preceded her in death
Oct. 29, 1981.
Surviving is a son, Jimmie Sparks, Lisbon Falls, Maine; two
grandchildren; Sisters, Mrs. Walter (Ruby) Tucker, Belleflower, Calif.; Mrs.
Joseph (Ruth) Lanwerlen, Mrs. Lucy Saunders, Mrs. Dale (Pat) Bastin, Mr
Wayne (Marilyn) Wilson, all of Shelbyville; Mrs. James (Betty) Taggart,
Waldron, and Mrs. Charles Henderson, Hope, and a Brother, Jack Bassett,
Shelbyville. A brother, sister and son preceded her in death. 
Bassett, Nellie Mae (I21027)
 
3612 Obituary, Shelbyville News 21 Jul 1998

Charles E. Henderson, 65, Hope died Saturday at Columbus Region
Hospital. Born on Nov. 26, 1932, in Bartholomew County. He was the son of John
and Anna (Graham) Henderson.
On June 16, 1962, he married Mary M. Bassett, and she survive
He worked at Golden Foundry, Columbus, for 34 years, retiring in May
1992. He was a member of Hope First Baptist Church.
Survivors include a daughter, Lettie Harker, Hope, a son, Tom L.
Henderson, Columbus, two brothers, Bert Henderson, Columbus, and John
Henderson, Indianapolis, three sisters, Nellie Sackman and Mary Ogle, both of
Columbus, and Carol Tungate, North Vernon, and three grandchildre
He was preceded in death by two brothers and two sister
Services will be at 10:30 a.m. Wednesday at Norman Funeral Home, Hope,
with the Rev. Tim Dillingham officiating. Burial will be in Bennett Cemetery,
Ray's Crossing, Indiana. Friends may call from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. today at the
funeral home. Memorial contributions may be made to the Hope First Baptist
Church building fund. 
Henderson, Charles E. (I21045)
 
3613 Obituary: Sacramento Bee 5 Sep 2001
John Bassett, Marketing Specialist

John Bassett, a marketing specialist who ran the successful 1988
campaign to block PG&E's attempt to take over the Sacramento Municipal Utility
District, died Thursday of complications of bladder cance
He was 66.
For the past eight years, he was employed by the Sierra College Small
Business Development Center in Auburn as a marketing counselor and publ
information officer.
In 1988, his Bassett Communications in Sacramento was hired by public
power advocates to marshall position to the Pacific Gas and Electric Co
unsolicited bid to take over SMUD.
Mr. Bassett named the position group "Keep Electric Energy Public"
(KEEP) and talked the late B.T. Collins into serving as president and chief
spokesman of the organization.
At numerous community meetings, Collins stressed the importance of
leaving control of SMUD's Rancho Seco nuclear power plant in the han
Sacramento County residents.
PG&E soon withdrew its takeover offer.
"John was a guy who worked behind the scenes," said Ron Roach,
director of communications for the California Taxpayers Association. "He had a
real talent for solving problems and cutting to the chase and getting things
done."
As a marketing executive, Mr. Bassett was the recipient of numerous
awards from the American Advertising Association, Sacramento Advertising
Association and Sacramento Public Relations Association.
His accounts included Oakland International Airport, the Port of
Oakland, Northern California Pontiac Dealers and SMUD.
He was an honors graduate of Kent State University and began his
career working in advertising and public relations for Ohio Edison Co. He came
to California in 1960 as a reporter for Fairchild Publications in San
Francisco.
During the 1970's, Mr. Bassett took a break from the marketing
business and moved to Amador County, where he owned and operated the Wheel
Inn, a Jackson dinner house, for seven years.
He established Bassett Communications Inc. in Sacramento in 198
after a stint as creative director for the advertising and marketing firm of
Craig & Honcock in Sacramento.
Mr. Bassett was divorced from his first two wives, Joanna Ahrens of
Little River, Mendocino County, and Susan Bassett of Citrus Height
Survivors include his wife, Marta Voigtlander Bassett of Sacramento; a
son, Brian Bassett of Citrus Heights; daughter, Beth Reynolds of West
Hollywood and Katie Bassett of San Francisco; stepdaughters, Michelle
McPherran of Beaverton, Ore., and Monique Belisle of Sacramento; and a
grandchild.
At his request, no services are planned.


Marquis Who's Who on the Web, 3 Aug 2006
John Leslie Bassett (Deceased)

Occupation: communication executive
Born: Cleveland, March 5, 1935
Education: BS in Journalism, Kent State University, 1957
Career: Editor Ohio Edison Co., Akron, Ohio, 1957-60; reporter Fairchild
Publications, Inc., San Francisco, 1960-62; advertising manager North America
Securities Co., Inc., 1962-65; account executive Pacific Advertising Staff,
Oakland, California, 1965-70; president Creative Department Inc., San
Francisco, 1970-73; Bassett Communications, Inc., Sacramento, 1986-88;
Thomas/Rahm/Bassett Communications, Sacramento, from 1988; senior vice
president, creative director David W. Evans, Inc., San Francisco, 1973-74;
owner, principal John Bassett Communications, Sacramento, 1974-86.
Creative Works: Creative director magazine media Bay Area Health Association,
1973, TV media Sacramento Municipal. Utility District, 1977, No. California
Pontiac Dealers, 1984 (Golden Crest award 1985).
Awards: Recipient Am. Advertising Federation National award, 1974.
Memberships: Member Sacramento Valley Marketing Association (director 1988-),
Sacramento Pub. Relations Association
Hobbies and Special Interest: Camping, softball
Family: son of Leslie M. and Jean Clark (Primrose) B.; married Susan M., March
23, 1969 (div. 1983); children: Elizabeth, Brian, Kathryn; married Marta V.,
January 1, 1984.
Address: Office: Thomas Rahm Bassett 1825 Los Robles Blvd Sacramento CA 95838-
4620.
Death: Died August 30, 2001. 
Bassett, John Leslie (I21846)
 
3614 Ogle County Press 1 Jan 1899
Death of a Former Resident of Polo

From the Emmetsburg (Iowa) Tribune we learn of the death of Prudence
Bassett, widow of the late William Illingworth, one of the very early settlers
of Buffalo Grove, which occurred at 11:30 a.m., Friday, Dec. 23, 1898, at her
home a few miles from Emmetsburg, at the age of 71 years, 2 months a
days. She had been sick about fifteen days with bronchitis, from which she had
been a sufferer at times for many years. The Tribune says the funeral was held
at the Methodist church, Christmas day, Rev. Maynard conducting the services.
Prudence Bassett was a daughter of Cornelius Bassett, who was well
known to many of the early settlers of Buffalo Grove thirty five years ago.
She was born near Little Utica, N.Y., in 1827, and the first twenty-six years
of her life were spent in that state, living in New York city and at Andes, in
Delaware county. At the age of 20 she was married to Lemuel Davis, who died
six years later, leaving a son and daughter. The latter died soon after her
father, in 1853, and the son, Geo. H. Davis, died in Chicago three years ago
last April. In 1853 or 4 Mrs. Davis came to Buffalo Grove, when in 1855 she
married William Illingworth and resided in this vicinity until their removal
to Emmetsburg, about twenty or twenty-two years ago. Five sons and four
daughters were born here. Four sons - Fred, Frank with whom she lived, and
Herbert, all of Palo Alto county, Iowa, and Cornelius, of Galesburg, are her
only surviving children.
Mrs. Illingworth was a woman of broad sympathy, cheery and pleasant,
making warm friends. The Tribune says of her: "During a long residence here
Mrs. Illingworth, through kindly and entertaining ways, was beloved by a large
circle of friends. For years the home she presided over was the scene of many
grand social gatherings". In church work, Mrs. Illingworth took an acti
part; always a consistent and devout member of the Methodist church and in the
consolations of that belief she died. A devoted wife and mother, a kind
neighbor, a friend to those who needed help." Having reached the age of 71,
she has gone to her reward and her memory will be cherished by all who knew
her. 
Bassett, Prudence (I06669)
 
3615 Onondaga's Centennial, Boston History Co., 1896, Vol. II, p. 2

Floyd F. Bentley, Baldwinsville, was born in Little Utica, town of
Lysander, Sept. 27, 1851, son of Edward, a native of Albany Co. and came to
Lysander. The family were of English descent and settled in Massachusetts at
an early date. Edward was engaged in farming and shipping potatoes, hay and
grain. He married Mary, daughter of Reuben Coffin. He died in 1881, aged 55
years. Floyd F. was educated in the common schools and finished at Fairfield
Seminary. He married Jeanette, daughter of Jenks Perkins, by whom he has six
children: Edward, Floyd, Frederick, Sidney, Nellie, and Lena. In 1886 M
Bentley came to Baldwinsville and engaged in the railroad business with the S.&
B. Division R.R., acting as agent, superintendent, manager, and receiver. In
1891 the railroad passed into the hands of the D.L. & W. and he was appointed
agent for the U.S. Express Co. Mr. Bentley is one of the energetic and
successful business men of the town. He has been organist of the Presbyterian
church for fifteen years. 
Bentley, Floyd Fenimore (I11524)
 
3616 Ontario County Chronicle, 6 Nov 1901

Rushville, N.Y. - Died, Friday, Nov. 1st, at her home in Rushville, Mrs. Mary
Burnett, aged 70 years. Mrs. Burnett has been a great sufferer for months with
a cancer. The funeral was held Saturday at 10 a.m. and the burial was at Italy
Hill, beside her husband and two children. She leaves one son, Will Burnett,
of this place, also a sister, Miss Cynthia Bassett of Rushville, a brother of
Naples, and a brother and sister in the west. 
Bassett, Mary Jane (I03376)
 
3617 Ontario County Journal, 5 Feb 1909

Naples, N.Y. - Mrs. Polly Comstock Bassett, wife of Isaac Bassett, died at her
home in this village on Monday morning at the age of 73 years. For some years
she had not been strong, yet her death came suddenly at last. Mrs. Bassett
moved to Naples from West Italy eight years ago. She was of a retiring nature
and got out but little. Her husband, one son, William, three sisters, Mrs.
Ishmael Elwell and Mrs. Andrew Teal, of West Italy, and Mrs. Darwin Donley of
North Cohocton; and one brother, John Comstock, of this village, survive her.
In former years she had been identified with the Methodist church at We
Italy. Rev. S.T. Harding, of the Baptist church, officiated at the funeral on
Wednesday.  
Comstock, Polly (I03381)
 
3618 Owensboro Messenger-Inquirer, Kentucky, 21 Jul 1996
Maggie Belle Bassett

HARDINSBURG - Maggie Belle Bassett, 94, of Payneville, and formerly of
Breckinridge Manor, Cloverport, died Friday, July 19, 1996, in Elizabethtown.
She was born in Meade County, was a retired homemaker and was a member of St.
Mary Magdalene Catholic Church. She was preceded in death by her husban
Henry Bassett; a son, Bennie Eugene Bassett; and a daughter, Martha Sanders
Phillips. Survivors include a son, Ray Bassett of Willis Point, Texas; two
daughters, Etta J. Raley of Jacksonville, Fla, and Jerri Kullman of Vine
Grove; 21 grandchildren; 40 great-grandchildren; 22 great-great-grandchildren;
and a sister, Elizabeth Reezor of Saint Clair Shores, Mich. Services are at 6
p.m. Monday at St. Mary Magdalene Catholic Church in Payneville. Burial will
be in the church cemetery. Visitation is after 5 p.m. today and after 9 a.m.
Monday at Trent-Dowell Funeral Home in Hardinsburg, where a prayer service
will be held at 7:30 p.m. today. 
Logsdon, Maggie Belle (I18088)
 
3619 Partial Obituary, Amsterdam Recorder

Merwyn received a bachelor's degree in business administration from
Boston University in 1930 and later attended Ohio State University to study
accounting. In 1935 he married his wife Edyth William who died in March of
1986, and began working as a certified public accountant for the Ernest L.
Luft Co. in Gloversville, NY which later became Cash and Bassett in 196
After retiring in 1971 he was an accountant for various school districts for
five years with Cash and Bassett. Mr. Bassett was a member of the Association
of Certified Public Accountants and a charter member and past president of the
Gloversville Rotary Club, where he was named a Paul Harris Fellow in 1989.
He was a third degree Mason with Johnstown Lodge 3 and a member of the
Eagles Aerie, the Foresters and the Eccentric Club, all in Gloversville and
the Elks and Moose lodges in Englewood, FL.
Mr. Bassett served on the board of directors of the former
Gloversville Glovers minor league baseball team.
During WWII he served with the N.Y. State Guard. 
Bassett, Merwyn Francis (I17490)
 
3620 Paul E. Bassett
Shelby County Historical Society

Paul Ernest Bassett, the son of Mildred Fox (Sept. 17, 1905-May 29,
1976) and William M. Bassett (April 2, 1906) was born on June 24, 1931. Paul
attended Marion Township Elementary School and graduated from Morristown High
School in 1949 where he was active in basketball, track and band. That year
1949, he planted his first crop of corn which started his farming career. He
has lived all of his life on the family farm. Paul was active as a 4-H leader.
He attended Farm School in Morristown. School bus driver was another of his
activities. He drove a school bus for Shelbyville Central Schools for eight
and one half years. Paul is serving on the board of the Agricultural
Stabilization Committee and is a member of the Marion Township Trustee's
Advisory Board. All of his life he had attended and is a member of the Liberty
Church (now United Methodist). Paul was active in Square Dancing and this is
where he met Dolores Jeanne Storer. They were married July 23, 196
Dolores Jeanne Storer is the daughter of Jeanette Agnus Eyke (Aug. 27,
1910-Dec.5 1987) and Wilson Arther Storer (Oct. 17, 1908-April4, 1981). She
attended Collett Elementary School, McLean Jr. High, and graduated from Wiley
High School in Terre Haute in 1949. The following year was spent in attendance
at the University of New Mexico. She also attended Brown's Business College in
Terre Haute then moved with her parents to Indianapolis where she worked first
as a payroll clerk. After her marriage to Paul and her move to Shelbyville,
she was active in the 4-H Dog Club. Jeanne attended and became a member of the
Liberty Church.
Paul had two sons: William Lee (June 7, 1951) and Michael Ernest (June
6, 1953), and a daughter Denise Ann (Feb. 28, 1956), by his first marriage to
Betty Joan Gaines.
Jeanne had two sons: Michael Ross (July 6, 1954), and Billy Edward
(March 11, 1957), by her first marriage to John Ross Ratliff, who died Jan. 3,
1964.
They put their two families together and became the parents of a son,
Steve Gene (Feb. 15, 1966). Paul and Jeanne and their family live in the house
where Paul's mother was raised. This house has seen two generations of "put
together families" raised within its walls. The house sits on the Morristown
Road at 600 N.


Shelby County, Indiana, Obituary
Paul E. Bassett

Paul E. Bassett, 70, lifelong resident of Shelby County, died
Wednesday, Feb. 6, 2002, at Hancock Memorial Hospital in Greenfiel
Born June 24, 1931, in Shelby County, he was the son of William M. and
Mildred (Fox) Bassett. He married D. Jeanne Storer on July 23, 1965. She
survives.
Other survivors include five sons, Bill Bassett, Steve Bassett and
Billy Ratliff, all of Shelbyville, Mike Bassett of Morristown, and Mike
Ratliff of Waynesboro, Ga.; one daughter, Denise Rogian of New Palestine; one
brother, Norman Bassett of Seymour; 11 grandchildren; and nine great-
grandchildren.
He was preceded in death by one brother, Robert Lee Basset
Mr. Bassett was a retired bus driver for Shelbyville Central Schools
and a lifetime farmer, retiring in 1994.
He was a member of Liberty United Methodist Church, Shelby County ASCS
committee and Bear Squares dance club.
Funeral services will be at 10:30 a.m. Monday at Glenn E. George & Son
Funeral Home, 437 Amos Road, with the Rev. David Bryan officiatin
Burial will be in Forest Hill Cemetery.
Visitation will be from 4 to 8 p.m. Sunday at the funeral hom
Memorial contributions may be made to Liberty Methodist Church in care
of Glenn E. George & Son Funeral Home, 437 Amos Road, Shelbyville, IN 46176.

The Indianapolis Star, Indiana, 8 Feb 2002
Paul E. Bassett

PAUL E. BASSETT, 70, Shelbyville, died Feb. 6. He was a farmer, retiring in
1994. Previously, he was a bus driver for Shelbyville Central Schools. he was
a member of the Shelby County Agricultural Stabilization and Conservati
Service and the Bear Squares Square Dancing Club. Memorial services: 10:30
a.m. Feb. 11 in Glenn E. George and Son Funeral Home, Shelbyville, with
calling from 4 to 8 p.m. Feb. 10. Entombment Forest Hill Cemetery,
Shelbyville. Memorial contributions may be made to Liberty United Methodist
Church, Shelby County, of which he was a member, in care of the funeral home.
Survivors: wife D. Jeanne Storer Bassett; children Denise Rogian, Bill, Mike,
Steve Bassett; stepchildren Billy, Mike Ratliff; 11 grandchildren; nine great-
grandchildren. 
Bassett, Paul Ernest (I26169)
 
3621 PICTURES OF MARTIN COUNTY PEOPLE YOU MAY KNOW

Will Bassett is the oldest son of Mr. and Mrs. Ashley Bassett,
Tenhassen homesteaders. Will grew up on the farm but figured he wasn't cut out
for a soil tiller so when he came of age he left the old homestead, as so many
others have done, and moved to town. Town was the country village of old
Tenhassen, of which nothing remains but the cemetery and a few hollows in the
ground at either side of the road, which were once cellars under houses and
business places.
Will was handy with tools so he engaged in the blacksmith trade, his
shop standing under a spreading cottonwood tree on the south side of
Tenhassen's main, and only, street. So skillful was he that he enjoyed the
reputation of being able to fix anything.
When bicycles were invented, Will Bassett didn't buy one. He made one
in his own shop. And once he built a steam engine for use in his sho
maybe it was to run a boat on Tuttle lake. He just picked up a few scraps of
iron and steel here and there and forged them together into an engine that
would run. There was a connecting link on the throttle or somewhere that he
made from a shoe once on the foot of a mule that belonged to Sam Carver. And so
with each part. Originally each had a history of its own.
Gasoline engines and automobiles came along and these all interested
Mr. Bassett. Evil days befell old Tenhassen because of the new, nearby
railroad town of Ceylon. Mr. Bassett turned the key in his village smithy and
moved to Fairmont. Here he grew into the auto repair business and could always
make them run. A few years ago he ambled off to San Benito, Texas, where he is
still monkeying with machinery.
Other figures in the picture are Mr. Bassett's wife and son. Mr
Bassett is also a Tenhassen pioneer, formerly Katie Personius, daughter of
pioneers of 1862. Before her marriage she was a rural school teacher. She is
quite as deserving a place in this particular hall of fame as her husband. She
knows all about the peculiar problems of being an inventor's wife. The good
looking young son is now a man in his own right and was christened Lyle. 
Bassett, William J. (I16806)
 
3622 Pioneer Press 2 Apr 2006
Fanny B. Bassett

Bassett, Fanny B. "Frances" Teacher Born July 9, 1946 in Quito, Ecuador. Died March 25, 2006 in St. Paul. Graduated Summa Cum Laude from Hamline University. Preceded in death by her father Alfredo Coronel; husband David M. Bassett II. Survived by mother Argentina Coronel of Quito, Ecuador;
sons David M. Bassett III (Katja) & Morgan K. Bassett all of St. Paul; granddaughter Ashley Lotzer; brother Alfredo Coronel of Quito, Ecuador; sister Martha S. Mettayer (David) of Eagan; nieces Tiffanie Mettayer Buck (Courtney), & Michelle Mettayer; Kathie & Maddy Delaney, and Kelly Bassett; sister-in-law Deborah Delaney (Dale); brother-in-law Richard Bassett (Heidi); and many friends and relatives. Memorial Mass Wednesday, April 5, 2006 at 10 AM at Nativity of our Lord Catholic Church, 1900
Stanford Ave. St. Paul. Interment Thursday Ft. Snelling National Cemetery. Memorials preferred to St. Thomas Academy Pride Honor & Integrity Fund. Twin Cities Cremation 651-645-1233. 
Coronel, Fanny (I8837)
 
3623 Plain Dealer, Cleveland Necrology File, Reel #092
Harry E. Bassett

Harry E. Bassett, beloved husband of Dorothy (nee) Wiley, dear father of Dale,
son of Ernest of Muncie, Ind., residence, 3110 Marmore Ave., Parma. Services
at Lkanke Funeral Parlors, 12629 Detroit Ave., Lakewood, Monday, May 8, at
1:30 p.m. The family will receive friends from 3-5 and 7-9 P.M. Sunday. 
Bassett, Harry E. (I20913)
 
3624 Plattsburgh Sentinel, Friday 18 Nov 1904
West Chazy

Mrs. Eunice Loomis Bassett, widow of Daniel Bassett, passed away at
the home of her son, Cyrus Bassett, Oct. 28th after an illness of eleven days.
She was the daughter of James Loomis. She was born in Champlain, N.Y. She was
married in 1853 to Daniel Bassett of Altona, and resided there until her
death. She was 74 years old. Her funeral was held in the Wesleyan Methodist
church, Oct. 31st, interment in the Douglass cemetary. She leaves to mourn her
departure, one son, Cyrus Bassett of Altona, three sisters, Mrs. J.S. Abara,
Miss E. Loomis, of Chazy, and Mrs. Charles M. Bruce of Baldwinville, Mass.,
and one brother, Abner Loomis of Ingraham. There were many beautiful flowers. 
Loomis, Eunice (I02553)
 
3625 Port Chester Westmore News, Sep 2007
William Hastings Bassett III

William Hastings Bassett III, 86, father of a Rye Brook man and a resident of
Scarsdale, died Sept. 18, 2007 at his home.

He was born in Waterbury, Conn. Dec. 14, 1920 to Helen Dean Bassett and
William Hastings Bassett, Jr.

He married the former Cecyl Hudson Smith in 1944.

He graduated from Scarsdale High School in 1939 and attended Georgia Institute
of Technology for two years before leaving to enter the Naval Aviation Cadet
Program.

His pilot's wings were awarded at Pensacola, Fla.

After the war, he attended Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute and then Pace
College where he received a Bachelor of Business Administration degree cum
laude.

During World War II, he was a pilot in the Naval Air Transport Service in the
Asia-Pacific Campaign and won victory medals.

Mr. Bassett was assigned to Naval Air Command in Seattle, Wash. and flew
transport planes to the Aleutian Islands.

He was an accountant with the Anaconda Co. and C.I.T. Financial Corporation.

He was manager of the Stock Transfer Department of Cities Service Co. until
the company moved to Tulsa, Okla. at which time he transferred to the Morgan
Guaranty Trust Co. Stock Transfer Department and was an officer there until
his retirement in 1986.

Mr. Bassett, a descendant of William Brewster, was a member of the New
Hampshire Mayflower Society.

He was also a member of the Scarsdale Golf Club and a 50-year member of the
Manursing Island Club.

Besides his wife of 63 years, he is survived by two sons, William Hastings
Bassett IV and Douglas Sydney Bassett and his wife Nancy H. Bassett of Rye
Brook; two granddaughters, Kristin Louise Bassett and Kimberly Ann Bassett;
and a brother, Dean Winslow Bassett.

A sister, Louise Bassett Rugg, predeceased him.

Donations in memory of William H. Bassett III may be made to the Alzheimer's
Association, 785 Mamaroneck Ave., White Plains, NY 10605. 
Bassett, William Hastings III (I23740)
 
3626 Portland Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram, 19 May 2007
Maxine Ann Bassett Foster Moore, 71

FRYEBURG - Maxine Ann Bassett Foster Moore, 71, of Boynton Beac
Fla., and Fryeburg, died Thursday, May 17, 2007, at the home of her daughter
in Holyoke, Mass.
She was born in Boston, Mass., the daughter of the late Maxwell and
Agnes (Frazier) Bassett, was educated in the Westwood, Mass. Schools and the
Catherine Laboure School of Nursing in Boston. She was a longtime Registered
Nurse, and worked for many years as a school nurse at MSAD #72 in Fryeburg,
retiring in 1996. She was a communicant of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Church in
Fryeburg and a long time member of the Maine School Nurses Associatio
Ann was predeceased by her first husband, John C. Foster in 1974; and
by her brother, Justin Clifford Bassett. She is survived by her husband,
Wendell F. Moore of Fryeburg; a son, Paul D. Foster of Scarborough; two
daughters, Julie L. Roebelen of Windsor, Conn., and Debra A. Foster of
Holyoke; four grandchildren, Johann, Daniell, Kalli, and Natalie; two
brothers, Brian D. Bassett of Fryeburg and E. Barry Bassett of Chapel Hill,
N.C.
A memorial Mass will be held at 11 a.m., Monday from St. Elizabeth Ann
Seton Catholic Church, Fryeburg.
In lieu of flowers memorial contributions should me made to your local
chapter of the American Cancer Society (Maine). 
Bassett, Maxine Ann (I20267)
 
3627 Portland Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram, 19 May 2007
Maxine Ann Bassett Foster Moore, 71

FRYEBURG - Maxine Ann Bassett Foster Moore, 71, of Boynton Beac
Fla., and Fryeburg, died Thursday, May 17, 2007, at the home of her daughter
in Holyoke, Mass.
She was born in Boston, Mass., the daughter of the late Maxwell and
Agnes (Frazier) Bassett, was educated in the Westwood, Mass. Schools and the
Catherine Laboure School of Nursing in Boston. She was a longtime Registered
Nurse, and worked for many years as a school nurse at MSAD #72 in Fryeburg,
retiring in 1996. She was a communicant of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Church in
Fryeburg and a long time member of the Maine School Nurses Associatio
Ann was predeceased by her first husband, John C. Foster in 1974; and
by her brother, Justin Clifford Bassett. She is survived by her husband,
Wendell F. Moore of Fryeburg; a son, Paul D. Foster of Scarborough; two
daughters, Julie L. Roebelen of Windsor, Conn., and Debra A. Foster of
Holyoke; four grandchildren, Johann, Daniell, Kalli, and Natalie; two
brothers, Brian D. Bassett of Fryeburg and E. Barry Bassett of Chapel Hill,
N.C.
A memorial Mass will be held at 11 a.m., Monday from St. Elizabeth Ann
Seton Catholic Church, Fryeburg.
In lieu of flowers memorial contributions should be made to your local
chapter of the American Cancer Society (Maine). 
Bassett, Maxine Ann (I20273)
 
3628 Portland Press Herald, Maine, 18 Mar 1998
Elizabeth Betty Bassett Greene

Elizabeth Betty Bassett Greene, 94, died here Sunday. She had been ill a long
time following a stroke. Mrs. Greene was born in New York City, daughter of
Dr. Philip C. and Margaret Beaumont Thomas, graduated from the Ethical Culture
School, received an A.B. from Vassar College in 1925 and an M.A. from Columbia
in 1928. She began teaching at the Rye Country Day School outside of New York,
then moved to The Buckley School for Boys in New York City and Milton Academy
outside Boston. In 1928, she married Charles Chase Bassett of Cleveland. They
moved to South Bristol in 1962 when Mr. Bassett retired. Both had vacationed
at Christmas Cove there from an early age with their families. The Bassetts
lived in Cambridge and Belmont, Mass. She taught at the Belmont Day School
until they moved to Cleveland in 1941, where she taught at the Park and Laurel
schools for 19 years. Her high standards, broad interests and respect f
students gained her a reputation for fairness and excellence in the classroom.
After Mr. Bassett died in 1965, she married Franklin Greene of South Bristol
and Beaufort, S.C. He died in 1981. Mrs. Greene excelled in basketba
college, won the Christmas Cove women's tennis championship at 16, became a
skilled figure skater and passed her silver-dance and first-figure tests at
age 60. In her later years, she enjoyed golf. Throughout her life, she was an
enthusiastic gardener and avid reader, and continued to learn about nature,
particularly about geology. She was active in all the communities in which she
lived. In South Bristol, she served on the Miles Memorial Hospital board and
volunteered with the hospital's Memorial League and at the Rutherford Library.
At 80, she passed the the test to become a First Responder. Mrs. Greene made
many trips to Europe and had visited Kenya, Egypt, Scandinavia, the Soviet
Union, the Caribbean and the Galapagos Islands and, at 85, visited Chile and
the Falkland Islands, and Alaska. Surviving are three daughters, Linda Johnson
of South Bristol and Shaker Heights, Ohio, Helen Gurland of Northport, N.Y.,
and Elizabeth Welles of New York City; a stepson, Alexander Greene of Brandon,
Vt.; a stepdaughter, Nancy Miller of Salem, S.C.; nine grandchildren and four
great-grandchildren. A private service will be held. Burial will be in
Harrington Meeting House Cemetery. A gathering will be held from 3:30 to 5:30
p.m. Saturday at Moosewood, 298 S Road, South Bristol. Arrangements are by
Strong Funeral Home. 
Thomas, Elizabeth (I21376)
 
3629 Portland Press Herald, Maine, 28 Feb 2006
Russell E. Johnston (Picture included)

BANGOR and HOLIDAY, Fla. - Russell E. Johnstone, 79, died Feb. 25, 2006,
surrounded by his family, after a long illness. He was born July 2, 1926, in
Alfred, the son of John E. and Ida (Lockwood) Johnstone. He joined the U.S.
Marine Corps at the age of 17. Russell served time in the South Pacific and
was badly wounded at Iwo Jima. He received the Purple Heart, the Americ
Theatre ribbon and the Asiatic-Pacific ribbon. Russell was honorably discharged
Oct. 24, 1945. He took great pride in his country and his family. Russell was
a very generous and giving man all of his life to family, friends and anyone
in need. He was a life member of the 4th Marine Division, Chapter 21; the BVA
and the VFW of Lovell. Russell enjoyed traveling and was able to return to Iwo
Jima in 1985. Surviving are his wife of 56 years, Priscilla (Bassett)
Johnstone; four children, Russell E. Johnstone Jr. and his wife, Roberta B.J.;
Jill Jutrus and her husband, David; Jayne Libbey and her husband Dennis;
Jacalyn Fearon and her husband, Paul; four grandchildren, Jenny Murphy;
Bethany Johnstone; Jessica Libbey and Justin Libbey; four step-grandchildren,
Megan Fearon; Alyson Fearon; Ashley Jutrus; Lauren Jutrus; two great-
grandchildren, Patrick and Jack Murphy; two brothers, Earl Johnstone and
Lucien Johnstone; five sisters, Bertha Garland, Lois Fluet, Shirley
LeTourneau, Ruby Johnstone and Nancy Hobbs; many nieces and nephews. The
family would like to say a special thank you to the staff of NHCU73 Togus for
their loving care of Russell. Those wishing to remember Russell in a special
way may contribute in his memory to: The VAMROC, 1 VA Center, Augusta, Maine
04330, Att. Volunteer Services. Please make checks payable to Voluntary
Services/Exclusive for NHCU73. Private services will be held at a later date.
A service of Brookings-Smith, 133 Center St., Bangor 
Johnstone, Russell E. (I15237)
 
3630 Portrait and Biographical Album Ingham & Livingston Counties, Michigan
Col. John A. Shannon

Col. John A. Shannon. Although of alien ancestry, our subject and the
family to which he belongs have been conspicuous for the services they have
rendered their country, both in the Colonial times and during the more recent
strife between the North and South. Now living a quiet, bucolic life upon his
farm on section 10, Vevay Township, Ingham County, he whose portrait appears
on the opposite page was born in Wyandot County, Ohio, on the banks of the
Tymochtee Creek, October 19, 1826. He is the son of Joseph C. and Ruth
(Allgire) Shannon. The father was born in Ireland and was a son of Patrick and
Elizabeth (Shepherd) Shannon, natives of County Donegal, Irelan
Our subject's grandfather, Patrick Shannon, came to America a short
time before the Revolutionary War, and espousing the cause of his adopt
country, did good service in that war. He served under the direct command of
Washington and was with him in that winter that will ever be memorab
American history, which was spent in terrible suffering, at Valley Forge. He
was a man of large means, but his great heart could not endure the sight of
suffering that could be relieved by his pocket book, and he spent his
substance in relieving the necessities of the soldiers, so that when the war
was over he was left with very little. With his wife he then returned to
Ireland for a short time to settle their property and convert it into money.
It was while they were on that trip that our subject's father, Joseph Cresap
Shannon, was born. The grandfather then came back to America and settled in
Kentucky, where his son was reared, and whence he enlisted in the Black Hawk
War, being a non-commissioned officer therein. After that war was over, Joseph
C. Shannon apprenticed himself to a tanner in Fayette County, Ohio, and
remained with him for two years. During his apprenticeship he became
acquainted with our subject's mother, who was a native of Fairfield County,
Ohio, and they were married before a great while.
After the marriage of our subject's father he was engaged in
agricultural work upon his father-in-law's farm for a few years and then
located in Wyandot County, where he entered land and also built a tannery. At
the time of the birth of our subject his parents' nearest neighbor lived at a
distance of two miles. Joseph C. Shannon became so popular with the Wyandot
tribe that they conferred upon him the unusual honor of making him a chief. He
attended their council meetings, and the fact that he was so favored proved to
be a great protection to him and his family. Our subject has inherited the
title of chief in the Wyandot tribe, and is today entitled to that distinction.
Joseph C. Shannon later removed to Ft. Findlay, Ohio, where he started
a store. He was afterward County Auditor, and was serving in that capacity
when he dropped dead on the ground which is now used as the cemetery in
Findlay, Ohio. His decease occurred in May, 1836, and his body lies interred
in that cemetery. It was a memorable and terrible occasion for our subject,
who was with his father at the time of his death. His mother had died in 1828,
and is interred in Wyandot County. His father was after that twice married.
There were three children by the first marriage. By the second marriage there
was one son, C.C. Shannon, now deceased, who was a soldier in the late war. He
left several children. By the third marriage there were three children, two
daughters who died in youth, and one son by name Hiram Strother Shannon, a
silversmith by trade; he lives in Minerva, Ohio, where he keeps a hotel. The
immediate branch of the family to which our subject belongs comprises, besides
himself, a sister, Sarah E., who married David Longshore, and whose home is
now in Iowa. Our subject's brother, Capt. Joseph O. Shannon, who now resides
in Nebraska, was a soldier in the War of the Rebellion.
As a boy between the ages of six and ten, our subject spent many days
with the Wyandot Indians. He learned their customs and also became familiar
with their language. Being a favorite with the braves, he was taught to use
the bow and arrow with the skill and expertness of one of their own tribe. He
went with them on two memorable journeys to Ft. Wayne and Detroit. He was only
ten years of age or thereabouts when his father's death occurred, and w
after that sad event sent to live with his mother's sister, a Mrs. Rachael
Murphy, of Delaware County, Ohio. With her he made his home until he was about
sixteen years of age. He remembers that, as a boy, it was far greater pleasure
for him to follow the Indians about, to hunt and fish, than to go to school,
but while in Delaware County he was in attendance at the little log
schoolhouse for about three months each winter. The teacher that he had must
have adapted himself admirably to the temperament of his little pupil, for
here he became fond of his studies, and so great a reader that it was h
delight to lie in front of the blazing logs in the fireplace and devour
anything that came within his reach. At the age of sixteen he successfully
passed an examination and received a license to teach. His career as a
teacher began immediately, and for his services he received $10 per mon
during the first term. He afterward attended Granville College, in Licking
County, Ohio, until his senior year, managing to teach at the same time during
vacations. He had, however, over-estimated the strain that his constitution
could endure, for his health failed him and he was obliged to leave school.
His college course up to that time had been paid for by working upon the farm
connected with that institution and also by teaching, which he followed for
nine years.
In 1850, when about twenty-three or twenty-four years of age, M
Shannon, having recently been converted, became a Methodist preacher in the
North Ohio Conference. Those were days of the itinerancy, when a preach
traveled about on horseback carrying with him only what he could take in his
saddlebags, and when, there being comparatively few churches in the country,
the schoolhouses or private residences were the places of meeting. He traveled
all over Northwestern Ohio, and was stationed in Toledo for a year, although
his first year was spent in Bryan, Williams County. He was at Fostoria for two
years.
On March 26, 1854, Mr. Shannon was married to Miss Lucy M. Bassett, of
Grand Rapids, Ohio. Their marriage was celebrated in Wood County. The lady was
born in Erie County, Ohio, February 15, 1832. By this marriage there have been
born four children, whose names are: Anna A., Lillian E., Alpheus G. and
Katie. The eldest daughter was born in Waterville, Lucas County, Ohio, June
29, 1855. She married Otto Caple and they live in Vevay Township, Ingham
County. Their children are: Harry, who was born in Indiana, August 21, 1877;
Lillie E., born in Indiana April 1, 1879; John A., born in Vevay Township,
Ingham County, April 2, 1885, and Ruth, also born in this township, January 9,
1887. The second daughter, Lillian E., born March 4, 1860, in Fostoria, Seneca
County, Ohio married Edward B. Caple January 19, 1887, and lives on section
10, of this township. Alpheus G., born in Ohio in 1862, died in Februar
1866. Katie, who was born in 1873, died in that same year.
In Wood County, Ohio, our subject became connected with the military
committee that made its headquarters at Perrysburg, Ohio. His talent in speech
making was in requisition, as he made an appeal for volunteers throughout the
State. He himself enlisted in the One Hundredth Ohio Infantry, Company A, and
was made Captain of the Company. He was in the battle of Wilson's Creek, Mo.,
in 1861, before he had become a soldier, and his patriotism taking fire he
seized a musket and entered the thick of the fight. He now says that he wanted
to prove whether he was brave enough to stand under the fire of the enemy.
After entering the army in 1862, he was assigned to the Army of the Ohio, and
was under Burnside's command, having received his commission as Captain July
15, 1862. His services having received honorable mention, he was promoted by
Gov. Tod to the rank of Major, May 13, 1863. He had studied civil engineering
and was enabled to assist O.M. Poe, now living in Detroit, in laying out the
fortifications at Knoxville, Tenn.
Previous to this Mr. Shannon had been detached from the regiment and
was on Gen. Burnside's staff, but while engaged on the work of the
fortification he was transferred to the staff of Gen. Tillson. After the plans
for this work were completed, he was ordered to take charge of their
construction according to the specifications that had been made. To relieve
the troops that were worn with excessive duty he was ordered to employ negro
labor in constructing the fortifications and January 6, 1864, he received an
order to organize a regiment of colored heavy artillery. The regiment was to
consist of twelve companies of one hundred and fifty men each. It received the
name of the First United States Colored Heavy Artillery, and our subject was
appointed its Colonel. As is so frequently the case where worth and mer
receive their reward and promotion, our subject was not spared the pain of
jealous shafts. Gen. Tillson did all he could to belittle his work and
loyalty, but our subject came out of the affair with flying colors and was
promoted to the position of Lieutenant-Colonel May 11, 1864, and to the rank of
Colonel November 4, 1864. On January 15, 1865, while in the line of duty, our
subject's horse stumbled and fell, and rolling over him, crushed the bones of
the chest, and by this catastrophe he was ruptured and otherwise disabled.
Thus incapacitated for active work, he offered his resignation May 13, 1865.
It was accepted, and he returned to his home.
Previous to his entering the army our subject had studied law, and
after his return home he was admitted to the bar in Columbus, Ohio, to
practice before the Supreme Court of Ohio. It was a gratifying tribute to his
ability as a man and an attorney that so early in his career he shou
elected Prosecuting Attorney for Wood County, Ohio. There he continued in the
practice of his profession until he was stricken down with sickness in 1884.
His removal to his present home took place in 1885. He is now retired from
active life and makes his home with his daughter. His wife still lives and is
the faithful companion of his days of trials as she has been of his days of
success.
In his experience during the war, when there were so many incidents of
oppression and wrong done by the soldiers on both sides, Mr. Shannon gave a
brilliant example of the magnanimity that should ever characterize a tr
soldier and a gentleman. The helpless and oppressed never turned away from him
without succor or encouragement, and offenders against the weak and helpless
were most summarily dealt with.
The following letter is a copy of an order by our subject to one of
the Southern men who had in his possession a little negro boy, whose mother was
very desirous to have him:

"HDQRS. FORAGING EXPEDITION, Atchleys Mill, Sevier Co., Tenn., January 3d,
1865"

"Mr. Dugan:
The bearer, Minnie desires to get possession of her little boy, Frank. I
regard her claim as better founded than yours. She wished to send her boy to
school. You, I understand, have said that no Yankees, or others, should take
him. If she is not allowed peaceful possession of her own child, I shall send
and take him by force of arms." (Signed) John A. Shannon, Col. Comdg. Foraging
Expedition. 
Shannon, Rev. James A. (I06286)
 
3631 Portrait Biographical Album of Lake County, Illinois
(1891)
Henry L. Burdick

Henry L. Burdick, one of the most prominent citizens of Ela Township,
now engaged in farming on section 11, where he has resided for the long period
of twenty-six consecutive years, was born in Kendall Township, Orleans County,
N.Y., February 7, 1840. His father, Rodman S. Burdick, was a native of Rhode
Island, born in 1800. He spent his early childhood days in that State and at
the age of ten shipped before the mast, following the seas until eighte
years of age when he went into the ship yards and learned the trade of a ship
carpenter. Later he resided in Madison County, N.Y., where during the summer
months he followed farming and in the winter season worked at his trade. It
was during his residence in that county that he wedded Harriet Bassett on the
4th of March, 1824. She was a daughter of Deacon Bassett of the Seventh Day
Baptist Church. Six children were born of their union, two daughters and four
sons but only two are now living, the others having died in childhood. Joseph M.
married Artamissa Talcott, and is overseer of public works in Kansas City, Mo.
The other surviving member of the family is Henry L. of this sketc
In 1845, with his family, Rodman Burdick came to Illinois, locating in
Vernon Township, Lake County, where he resided until 1854, at which time he
removed to Wheaton, Du Page County, and followed his trade at that place for
four years. He then returned to his old home in Vernon Township, and on the
11th of August, 1874, his wife was called to her final rest. Subsequently he
went to Kansas City, spending two years with his son Joseph, and then returned
home. He died while on a visit to an older brother in Madison County, N.Y., in
1878. In early life, Mr. Burdick was a stanch Abolitionist, and when the
Republican party was formed to prevent the further extension of slavery, he
joined its ranks. He served as drum major for several years in the New York
State Militia, and was a man of prominence in the various communities where he
made his home. He and his wife were members of the Seventh Day Baptist Church
for several years but afterward joined the Wesleyan Methodist Church, in the
faith of which they died.
The early education of our subject, acquired in the common schools,
was supplemented by a two year course of study in Wheaton. At the age of
twenty he began life for himself as a farm hand, working by the month for two
years, when at the call of President Lincoln for more troops, he enlisted in
Company F, Thirty-Seventh Illinois Infantry and went in to camp at Chicago,
whence the regiment was ordered to St. Louis, and later sent to reinfor
Mulligan at Lexington, but when they reached Booneville, they learned that
Mulligan had already surrendered. At Otterville they went into winter quarters
and in the spring proceeded to Springfield, Mo. While en route they learned
that Fremont had been superceded by Hunter. This was sad news for the boys of
the Thirty-Seventh Illinois for they had called their regiment the Fremont
Regiment. Shortly afterward they went into camp at Sedalia, Mo., and on
breaking camp entered into the campaign which resulted in the battle of Pea
Ridge. Mr. Burdick was taken prisoner two days before the engagement. He had
been detailed to go to a private house and take care of a sick comrade and
after the retreat of the regiment he was captured and conveyed to Van Buren,
Ark., where he was held as a prisoner for five weeks and then exchanged. In
the meantime he had contracted a disease, from which he has never yet fully
recovered. After rejoining his regiment, the troops went back to Cassville,
where they remained through the summer and then proceeded to Springfield. His
company was detailed as provost guard and had charge of the military prison
until orders came to proceed to Wilson's Creek. Later the battle of Prairie
Grove was fought and on the return to Raleigh, the Thirty-Seventh Illinois
Infantry was sent to Pilot Knob, but Mr. Burdick was left in charge of the
provost marshal's stores. After a short time, he received orders to collect
what was left of the army and stores and report at Pilot Knob. After joining
his regiment, he was left at Pilot Knob engaged in the same duty, while his
command went to Cape Girardeau, and took transports for Vicksburg. Some time
afterward orders came from Gen. Vandever to turn over all stores to Col. Carr,
commander of the post and report at St. Louis. The next morning he took
transportation and rejoined his regiment at Warrington, where the division
crossed the river and took a position upon the extreme left of Logan's corps,
where they remained until after the surrender of Vicksburg. They were then
transported up the Yazoo River, and captured the city of Yazoo. They lost the
gunboat, "DeKalb" but secured enough arms to counteract the same. During all
this campaigning, Mr. Burdick was detailed as Sergeant of the Provost Guard
and after spending a short time at Port Hudson, went to New Orleans and thence
to Morganza's Bend. About this time he received a sixty days furlough on
account of sickness and was never again with his regiment. He reported to New
Orleans, where he spent the winter in the ordinance office and in the spring
crossed to Ft. Brown, Texas, where he remained during the service. Those who
did not re-enlist were ordered to report in Chicago, to be mustered out and in
that city, on the 4th of October, 1864, he was honorably discharge
On his return from the war, Mr. Burdick engaged in the operation of
the old homestead, but since his marriage has resided on his present farm. On
the 30th of December, 1865, he was joined in wedlock with Maggie L. Benson,
who was born in Chicago, December 5, 1943, and is a daughter of John and
Margaret (Bonner) Benson. They were both natives of Germany but when young
people crossed the Atlantic to America, and were married in New York. Soon
afterward they emigrated to Chicago, where Mr. Benson was taken with
consumption. He then went to Joliet, where he had friends living, but died
about two years after his marriage. Mrs. Benson afterward became the wife of
Samuel Adams, and they took up their residence in Russell's Grove, Ela
Township, where Mr. Adams died twenty-five years later, and the mother of Mrs.
Burdick was again left a widow, since which time she has lived with her
daughter. In the household are also two sons and two daughters, born of the
union of our subject and his wife: Fred L., who was born July 31, 1867, and is
now engaged in the butchering business in Nehawka, Neb.; Hattie, born December
2, 1869, is at home; Cora A., born May 3, 1874, is employed in the watch
factory in Elgin; and Lester R., born December 6, 1876, is at hom
Mr. Burdick is an enterprising farmer and has a pleasant home in Ela
Township. He is a Republican in politics, having supported that party since he
attained his majority with the exception of the time when he cast his first
ballot for Stephen A. Douglas. He has for several years been School Director
and also Commissioner of Highways. Socially, he is a Master Mason, belonging
to Wauconda Lodge, No. 298, A.F.& A.M., and also holds membership with the
Grand Army Post of Wauconda. His wife is a member of the Methodist Church, and
for twenty-five years he has been the leader of the choir. This worthy couple
are well and favorably known throughout the community, and none are more
deserving of a representation in their county's history. 
Burdick, Rodman S. (I07524)
 
3632 Portsmouth Herald, 16 May 2000
Myra K. Bassett

OGUNQUIT - Myra Kenney Bassett, 92, a well-known local personality, died
unexpectedly Monday, May 8, 2000 at her home in the village.

Born in 1908, in Medfield, Mass., she was the first of three children born to
Hiram Kenney of Tabasintac, New Brunswick, and Delia O'Brahney Kenny of
Roscommon, Ireland.

She attended Rumford schools and graduated from the Maine Eye & Ear Infirmary
in Portland in 1930. In 1939, she became the first nursing instructor of the
newly formed Women's Army Corps. After the war she became head of the special
surgical unit at the John Sealy Hospital in Galveston, Texas, which provided
much of the care for the burn victims of the 1948 Texas City disaste

In 1932, she married Dwight Bassett of Ogunquit, whose family operated
Bassett's Crystal Spring Park and Lodges on Route 1 north of town.

In 1952, she and Dwight bought their guest house on Beach Street and operated
it for more than 30 years.

In 1928, out on a forbidden date, she flew over Ogunquit Beach in a biplane.
Seventy years later, to celebrate her 90th birthday, she flew over it again,
this time in a parasail. She was feisty, outspoken, adventurous, generous, and
funny. To her last day, she was in charge.

She leaves her son and daughter-in-law, Kenney Bassett and Claire LaVoie of
North Hero, Vt.; and her sisters-in-law, Leona Kenney of Orange, Texas and
Harriet Kenney of Gold Run, Calif.

She was predeceased by her husband in 1986; by her brothers Walter Kenney of
Orange, Texas, and Vernon Kenney of Gold Run, Calif.; and by her stepmother
Blanche Lynn Kenney of Dixfield, Maine.

She was a unique and colorful personality and will be missed by her extended
family and a legion of friends. Funeral services will be private. 
Kenney, Myra (I17777)
 
3633 Prescott Daily Currier, 28 Mar 2001
Edson G. Bassett

Edson G. Bassett, 78, of Prescott, died Monday, March 26, 2001, in the hospice
unit at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Prescott. He was born Dec. 4,
1922, in Waterville, Vt., to Edson Sr. and Marie (Bailey) Bassett. Mr. Bassett
served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. He worked for Sears, and retired
in 1985. Surviving are his wife, Pauline; daughters, Kathleen McKinl
Jenison, Mich., Marie Harmon of Edwards, Calif., and Yvette Dejarnatt of
Wyoming, Mich.; sons, Michael of Chino Valley, John of Spring Valley and
Mathew of Prescott Valley; stepson, Tom France of Gilbert; brother, Henry of
Springfield, Vt; 19 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren. He was preceded
in death by a son, a daughter and a stepson. Services will be at 9:30 a.m.
Friday at Arizona National Cemetery, Cave Creek. The family suggests memorial
contributions to Yavapai Regional Medical Center Hospice, P.O. Box 2656
Prescott Valley, AZ 86312. Memory Chapel Mortuary helped the family with
arrangements. 
Bassett, Edson George Jr. (I28276)
 
3634 Probably The News, Whitesville, New York (26 Jan 182
Son at Rochester

S.S. White appears a trifle more spry and witty, if possible, since Sunday.
The reason is a new grandson to Mr. and Mrs. Glenn C. Bassett in Rochester
hospital that day. Mother and Glenn Cottrell Jr. are doing splendidly.
Whitesville friends send congratulations.



1930 Federal Census of Rochester, Monroe County, New York
Glenn C. Bassett 43 M NY NY NY Head Agent Advertising Co.
Belea? W. 41 F NY NY NY Wife Supplykeeper Public Scho
Glenn C. Jr. 8 M NY NY NY Son 
Bassett, Glenn Cottrell (I19074)
 
3635 Prominent Men of the Great West
Frank Bassett Tobey, Chicago, Illinois

Frank Bassett Tobey, president of the Tobey Furniture Company of
Chicago, was born at Dennis, Cape Cod, Mass., September 15, 1833. It has been
remarked that many of Chicago's prominent business men came from Cape Cod.
Besides the Tobey brothers, Charles and Frank, the Nickersons, the Swifts, the
Underwoods, the Ryders, the Lombards, the Crosbys, the Matthews, and a host of
others, claim this sandy peninsula as their birthplace. The father of Frank
Tobey owned and occupied the farm that had been in the possession of the Tobey
family for more than two hundred years. Tradition says that his land was
deeded to Captain Thomas Tobey, about the year 1674, for services rendered in
organizing a company and assisting Plymouth Colony in King Phillip's wa
Frank's mother was Rachel Bassett, whose ancestors came to America in t
next ship following the Mayflower.
Young Tobey worked on the farm summers and attended school winters
until he was eighteen. For the next five years he held a position as clerk in
the village store and post-office. The proprietor, Howes Chapman, was a man of
superior intelligence, and was singularly upright in character and motives,
and had great influence in molding the character of his young assistant, to
whom he gave up largely the management of the business.
At an early age Frank took great interest in philosophical and
political subjects, always reasoning from the humanitarian stand-point. When
only twelve years old, he took issue with his father on the question of the
Mexican War, claiming that its object was the extension of slave territory and
therefore unjust. He soon became identified with the anti-slavery movement. He
wrote the call and served as secretary for the first Republican convention
ever held in his native town. At that time the Republicans were represented by
a small minority, but nine years later every vote in the town was cast for
Abraham Lincoln. When barely twenty-one, he was nominated as delegate to the
first Republican State convention but declined the honor because he could not
afford the expense.
In 1857 he came to Chicago, where, a year before, his brother Charles
had started a furniture business on State street, south of Van Buren, in a
small store, twenty by sixty feet. The first year Frank worked on a salary.
The next year the co-partnership of Charles Tobey & Brother was formed, and
their room doubled by the addition of the adjoining store. At this time the
young men did all their work, and by close attention made the business
prosperous. Their conservative and economical methods enabled them to weather
the panic of 1857 to 1860, when so many older concerns went down. The large
increase of business in 1859 required larger accommodations, which they found
at 72 State street. They afterward removed to Lake street, and in 1866 to a
new building erected specially for them at 77-79 State street, being business
pioneers on that thoroughfare. In 1870, the Tobey Brothers, in connection with
F. Porter Thayer, organized the Thayer & Tobey Furniture Company. The great
fire of 1871 destroyed their building and stock, and in common with most
Chicago firms, they suffered severe loss. With characteristic energy th
improvised a salesroom at their West Side factory, which had escaped, a
before the fire had ceased it ravages, they had taken an order to furnish the
Sherman House, now the Gault, which order was completed in seven days. In 1873
they occupied the Clark building, corner of State and Adams streets. In 1875, the
Tobey Brothers bought out Mr. Thayer's interest, and the name of the company
was changed to the Tobey Furniture Company, Charles being president, and Frank
vice-president and manager. In March, 1888, the company occupied the Drake
building, corner Wabash avenue and Washington street. The same year they
started a factory for the manufacture of high-class furniture for their own
trade. This feature of the business has grown beyond anticipation, the quality
of the goods produced being equal to anything in the world. In Septembe
1886, Chas. Tobey died, and Frank became president. In 1890, they doubled the
capacity of their warerooms by renting the adjoining building known as "My
Block". Mr. Tobey has thus seen the firm, beginning in a little store of 1,220
square feet in 1957, grow to the present proportions of the Tobey Furniture
Company, requiring for its business more than four acres of floor space, its
trade extending to every State and Territory in the Union, with occasional
foreign shipments. In fact, it is without doubt the largest and most widely
known retail furniture house in the country, if not in the worl
Outside his business, Mr. Tobey has taken lively interest in and has
contributed liberally to philanthropic and charitable movements. In religion
he might be called a disciple of Theodore Parker, believing in the deed,
rather than the creed. He helped organize the Society for Ethical Culture in
Chicago, and has generously devoted time and money to its suppor
His politics may perhaps be best described by quoting his own remark
that, "Statesmanship found its highest ideal in Charles Sumner, who labored
always for righteousness and absolute justice."
He has been an active promoter of the economic conferences in Chicago,
which brought the laborer and capitalist together and led to a better
understanding between them. The distinguishing qualities in Mr. Tobey's
character, and with which his name is always associated, are integrity,
charitableness and a high sense of justice. 
Tobey, Frank Bassett (I05692)
 
3636 Providence Rhode Island Journal, Wednesday 21 Jul 2004)

BASSETT (MAGNER) - Warwick - Catherine E. Bassett, 77, of Pitman Road, a
retired switchboard operator, died yesterday at Health Haven Nursing Home, in
Coventry. She was the wife of the late Theodore R. Bassett. Born in West
Warwick, a daughter of the late John T. Magner Sr. and Mildred (Duffy) Magner,
she had lived in West Warwick and Warwick for most of her life. Mrs. Bassett
had been a switchboard operator for the former New England Telephone Co., now
Verizon, for eight years, and for the former Kent County Memorial Hospital,
now Kent Hospital, for eight years before retiring. She was a member of the
Warwick Jaycees. Mrs. Bassett was a communicant of St. Kevin Church. She
enjoyed arts and crafts, dancing, acting and the theater. She leaves a son,
Paul M. Bassett Sr., a daughter, Nancy J. Haibon, and two brothers, James T.
Magner Jr. and Francis Magner, all of Warwick; seven grandchildren; a
great-granddaughter. She was the mother of the late James E. Bassett, and the
sister of the late Mary Douglas and Maureen Hollis. The funeral will be held
Friday at 8:30 a.m. from the Thomas & Walter Quinn Funeral Home, 2435 Warwick
Ave., with a Mass of Christian Burial at 9:30 in St. Kevin Church, Sandy Lane.
Burial will be in the Rhode Island Veterans Cemetery, Exeter. 
Magner, Catherine E. (I23498)
 
3637 Raleigh/Durham/Cary/Chapel Hill News Observer
(includes picture)

Commander (CDR) Charles A. Bassett, U.S. Navy, Ret., 89, of Chapel
Hill, died on October 12, 2004 at the home of his son.
CDR Bassett was born November 20, 1914 on a ranch in Las Vegas, New
Mexico, two years after the territory became a state. He was one of eig
children, born to Guy Bassett and Helen Olsen Bassett. He was the last
surviving sibling. After attending the University of New Mexico at
Albuquerque, he enlisted in the Navy and entered flight school. He was
commissioned an Ensign in the U.S. Navy, November 1, 1941. A career officer
and naval aviator, he retired as a Commander.
CDR Bassett was a World War II veteran. He served at sea and on
numerous Naval Air Stations. He had two tours of duty in the South Pacific.
His first tour of Duty began when he reported to a seaplane squadron on
Christmas Day 1941, at Pearl Harbor. During his first tour he flew search and
destroy, and rescue missions near Pearl Harbor and at Midway. Following the
Midway battle he rescued a downed B-17 crew. On his second tour, he flew B-
24's based at Guadalcanal, where the squadron provided scouting and bombing
support.
After the South Pacific, CDR Bassett was assigned to an anti-submarine
squadron, based in England. He completed 45 missions on that assignment,
including D-Day patrol over the English Channel. Later, he was assigned to the
U.S. Naval Forces France and served as the staff pilot. He was in Paris on V-E
Day. The remainder of his career consisted of various duties both on shore and
at sea. The two assignments he remembered most fondly were his duty on the
carrier, USS Yorktown, while it was ported in Japan. The other, when he was
stationed at the U.S. Naval Station on Kwajalein Island, the gateway to atomic
testing in the South Pacific. His family was privileged to accompany him
there. CDR Bassett made a few footsteps in history.
CDR Bassett is survived by his son, Charles R. Bassett of Chapel Hill
and wife, Maryann; five grandchildren, Crista Lantz of Charlotte and her
husband, Jim, Sarah Phillips of Raleigh and her husband, Todd; Laura Bassett
of New York, Andrew Bassett of Chapel Hill, and Carrie Bassett of Buffalo, NY.
He is also survived by three great-grandchildren, Catie and Maddie Lantz and
Joshua Phillips.
He was preceded in death by his wife of 57 years, Catherine McBirnie
Bassett and his son, William Jay Bassett.
A memorial service will be held at a later date. Burial will ta
place at St. Matthew Catholic Cemetery, Durham, North Carolin
In lieu of flowers, contributions in Mr. Bassett's memory may be made
to UNC Hospice, Pittsboro, NC. 
Bassett, Charles Albert (I18136)
 
3638 REPORTER, VACAVILLE, CALIFORNIA, WED., SEPT. 20, 1978
Donald Bassett Dies at 75

Donald Clark Bassett, 75, a native of Elmira, died Friday in a Tulare
hospital after an illness of several months. He was the son of the late Mr.
and Mrs. Guy Bassett of the Elmira area.
He was a graduate of the Cooper Elementary School, east of Vacaville,
and was a 1922 graduate of Vacaville High School. He later attended the
University Farm, (UC Davis). He was a frequent visitor to this area after he
had moved away, and had attended annual reunions of his Vaca High clas
He was a member of the Masonic Lodge, Knights Templar and Royal Arch
Masons of Tulare and the Scottish Rite of Fresno.
For a number of years he was a milk inspector for Los Angeles a
Tulare Counties. Later he was a laboratory technician with the Challenge
Creamery in Lemore. Following his retirement he resided in Tular
Surviving are his widow, Bernice of Tulare; a son, Dale of Sunland,
and a twin sister, Dorothy Wride of Kenwood. There are three grandchildren. 
Bassett, Donald Clark (I20615)
 
3639 Representative Men and Old Families of Southeastern Massachusetts
Volume I, 1912

BASSETT (Fall River family). The family bearing this name in Fa
River, to which belonged the late Hon. Rufus W. Bassett, long prominent in
business and public affairs, for years a member of the board of police and
much of the time its chairman, is a branch of the earlier Taunton family, it
of the still earlier Rochester branch of the distinguished Bassetts of the
Cape Cod towns of the Old Colony.
(I) William Bassett, the emigrant ancestor in this country, was born
about 1590. It is of record that he married (first) Cecil Licht and (second),
in 1611, in Leyden, Holland, Margaret Oldham. As there is no further mention
of the second wife it is supposed that she died soon after. William Bassett
left Delft Haven in the ship "Speedwell" July 22, 1620, and went to
Southampton, England, with other Pilgrims. There the "Mayflower" was waiting
for them, and after the company was divided between the two vessels they set
sail for America Aug. 5, 1620. The "Speedwell" was found to be leaking, and
both ships put into Dartmouth for repairs, and again set sail Aug. 21st. The
"Speedwell" again commenced to leak, and, with such emigrants as could not be
accommodated on the "Mayflower", Robert Cushman and family, William Bassett and
others - about twenty in all, returned to London. Early in November, 1621, the
ship "Fortune", a vessel of about fifty-five tons burden, and a new boa
arrived at Plymouth, Mass., from England, with thirty-five passengers, among
whom were William Bassett and Robert Cushman. It is not positive that William
Bassett's third wife, Elizabeth (Tilden), came with him or not, as she is not
mentioned until 1627, when William and his wife, Elizabeth, and children
William, Jr., and Elizabeth Jr., were included in the record of the division
of cattle at Plymouth, Mass. William Bassett was elected deputy assistant to
the governor in 1640, 1643, 1644, 1645, 1648, from Duxbury, Mass., where he
had gone in 1637 and made a settlement with others. About 1650 he settled in
Bridgewater, Mass., he being one of the original proprietors of that town,
which was incorporated in 1656. He was comparatively wealthy, being a large
landholder, only four in Plymouth paying a higher tax in 1633. He had a large
library, from which it is to be inferred that he was an educated man. In 1633
he had become a freeman of the Colony, and in 1637 he was a volunteer in the
company raised to assist Massachusetts and Connecticut in the Pequot war; he
was a member of the committee of the town of Duxbury to lay out bounds and to
decide on the fitness of persons applying to become residents. He was
representative to the Old Colony Court six years. His children were: William,
Elizabeth, Nathaniel, Joseph, Sarah, Jane, Ruth (born in 1632, married first
John Sprague, 1655), and perhaps others. He died in Bridgewater in May, 1667.
Of his children, William settled in Sandwich; Nathaniel first settled in
Marshfield, and in 1684 in Yarmouth; Joseph remained on the parental homestead
at Bridgewater, Mass., Sarah married Peregrine White, of Marshfield, the first
child born of English parents at Cape Cod Harbor, in November, 1620; and
Elizabeth married Thomas Burgess, of Sandwich. William Bassett (2) is t
ancestor of the Bassetts of Sandwich, and some of those in Barnstable and the
town of Dennis.
(II) William Bassett (2), son of William and Elizabeth (Tilden)
Bassett, born in 1624, married Mary Burt, and died in 1670.
(III) William Bassett (3), born in 1656, son of William (2) and Mary
(Burt) Bassett, married in 1675 Rachel Willison. He died in 172
(IV) William Bassett (4), son of William (3) and Rachel (Willison)
Bassett, married in 1709 Abigail Bourne.
(V) John Bassett, son of William (4) and Abigail (Bourne) Bassett,
lived in Rochester, Mass., and there by his wife Mary had a family of twelve
children. His death occurred May 17, 1781. His children were: Aurelia, born in
1743; Bethsheba, 1744; Benjamin, 1746; Mary, 1747; Emma, 1749, Peter, 1752;
Desire, 1754; Sarah, 1756; Newcomb, 1757; Thomas, 1759; Meltiah, 1761; and
Abigail, 1763.
(VI) Thomas Bassett, son of John and Mary Bassett, was born in
Rochester, Mass., June 19, 1759, and died there Feb. 24, 1833. On Ja
1781, he married Lydia Mendall, of that town, who was born March 19, 1760. His
children were: Newcomb, born in 1781; Anselm, born in 1874; Samuel, born in
1786; Abner, born in 1788, who married Harriet B. Spaulding, of Norwich,
Ocnn.; Thomas Jr., and Lydia (twins), born in 1790; John, born in 1793, who
married Laura Wing, of Marion, Mass.; Stephen, born in 1798, who married
Abigail Mendall; and Ezra, born in 1800, who married Keziah Russel
(VII) Anselm Bassett, son of Thomas and Lydia (Mendall) Bassett, was
born April 29, 1784 in the town of Rochester, Mass. He prepared for college
under the tuition of Hon. Tristam Burges, who was then preceptor of the
Rochester Academy, entered Brown University in 1799, and is said to have been
the youngest member of his class, graduating in 1803. After receiving h
degree he taught school in his native town, and also studied law in the office
of Abraham Holmes. He was admitted to the bar in January, 1808, and
immediately settled in Narraguagus, in what was then called the district of
Maine. After a year he removed to Columbus, Maine, where he practiced
successfully for three years, when, business being prostrated by the war with
England, he returned to Rochester. Here he married Rosalinda, daught
Abraham Holmes, with whom he had studied law, and soon afterward settled at
Head of Westport, Mass., where for twenty years he continued the practice of
his profession with a high degree of success. In 1849 was formed what was long
the well-known firm of Bassett & Reed. On June 1, 1863, he withdrew from this
partnership and determined to relinquish his profession. He had been in
practice fifty-five years, and was the oldest practitioner in Bristol county,
and one of the oldest in the State. But though he closed his office and
withdrew from the bar, he was constantly sought by his former clients, who
were unwilling to rely on other advice until his could no longer be obtained.
In 1831 Mr. Bassett represented his town in the Legislature, and in
1832, having been appointed registrar of Probate for the county of Bristol, he
was required to fix his residence in Taunton. This office he continued to hold
for nineteen years, and discharged its duties with distinguished promptness
and faithfulness. He appears also to have kept up his practice during this
official period, and to have been very much relied upon as a counselor by a
large number of clients. Both as a public official and as a lawyer he w
greatly respected for the uprightness of his conduct and his great kindness of
heart.
Mr. Bassett died Sept. 9, 1863, when in the eightieth year of his age,
and apparently from the natural decay of old age, without diseas
After the death of Mrs. Rosalinda (Holmes) Bassett Mr. Bassett married
(second) Mrs. Lucy Smith, of Troy, N.Y. His children, all born to the first
marriage were: Thomas, born in 1811, who died in 1835; Charles J.H., born in
1814; George F.H., born in 1817, who died in 1820; Cynthia C.H., born in 1821;
and Elizabeth M., born in 1824.
Mrs. Rosalinda (Holmes) Bassett was a descendant in the sixth
generation from William Holmes (who was an inhabitant of Scituate, Mass., as
early as 1646, and a freeman of that Colony in 1658, later removing to
Marshfield, where he died in 1678), from whom her lineage is through Abraham
Holmes and his wife Elizabeth (Arnold), of Rochester, he dying there in 1722;
Experience Holmes, who died in 1715, aged thirty-three years; Experience
Holmes (2); and Hon. Abraham Holmes, a distinguished lawyer of Rocheste
Massachusetts.
(VIII) Charles Jarvis Holmes Bassett, son of Anselm and Rosalin
(Holmes) Bassett, was born in Westport, Mass., July 10, 1814, and began his
education there. For a time he lived with his uncle, Charles Jarvis Holmes, in
Rochester, Mass., and there also attended school. He studied law and was
admitted to the Bristol county bar, but did not practice. He was cashier of
the Taunton National Bank, and later of the Hanover National Bank of New York
City, and was recalled to the Taunton Bank, of which he became president. He
was a member of the Congregational Church. He married, Jan. 20, 1840, Emeline
Deane Seabury, who was born in Taunton, Mass., Oct. 2, 1817, daughter of John
Westgate Seabury, and died April 1, 1842. On Aug. 14, 1845, Mr. Bassett
married (second) Nancy L. Gibbs, who was born in Sandwick, Mass., Feb 2
1823, and who at the time of her marriage was living in Bridgewater, Mass. She
died May 12, 1848, and Mr. Bassett married (third) Dec. 25, 1850, Martha B.
French, of Pawtucket, R.I., who was born June 2, 1825. Mr. Bassett died Sept.
3, 1891. His children were: Sarah S., born in 1840, who married Erastus Morse,
of Taunton; John S. and Charles A. (twins), born in 1842, the former of whom
married Marianna C. Perry, of Taunton; Louisa L., born in 1846, who married
George H. Rhodes, of Taunton, Mass.; Isabel, born in 1848; Henry F., born in
1851, who married Emma C. Jackson, of Taunton, Mass., Rufus W., born in 1853;
Martha E., born in 1855, who died in 1881; Mary R., born in 1858, who married
Col. Henry Pierce, of Pawtucket, R.I.; George F.H., born in 1862; and Susie
A., born in 1864.
(IX) Charles A. Bassett, son of Charles J.H. Bassett, received his
education in the schools of Taunton, attending high school in that city. At
the age of seventeen he started out to earn his own living, for a year
clerking in a dry goods store, and for four years he was the youngest clerk in
the Taunton National Bank. Through the influence of the late Hon. Jo
Brayton, at the age of twenty-one he came to Fall River and for thirteen years
was connected with the First National Bank of that city. In February, 1877, he
was made treasurer of the Fall River Savings Bank, in which position he still
remains. Of the nineteen trustees of that bank in 1877 only two survive. Mr.
Bassett is Royal Arch Mason.
(IX) Rufus W. Bassett, son of the late Charles J.H. and Mart
(French) Bassett, of Taunton, was born in that city July 22, 1853. After
receiving a high school education he entered the office of the Eagle Cotton
Company, at Taunton, where he remained for several years, later removing from
Taunton to Fall River to become bookkeeper for the Troy Cotton & Woolen
Manufactory. After some years in this position he opened an office as a cotton
and cloth broker, later associating himself with Nathan Durfee under the firm
name of Bassett & Durfee, in a partnership which was continued to the time of
his death. The firm did a large business and were the recognized
representatives of the American Printing Company in the purchase of goods in
this market. In this capacity they frequently took very large quantities of
goods. Mr. Bassett was also a director in the Metacomet National Bank, the
Fall River Electric Light Company and the Richard Borden Manufacturing
Company.
In young manhood Mr. Bassett was fond of athletics, and as an amateur
played right field and first base for the Fall River nine, a semi-professional
organization. He served for some time, when he first came to Fall River, in
Company M (of which he was a charter member), Massachusetts Volunteer Militia.
He had a genial, obliging disposition, which made him very popular with those
who came in contact with him, and he was everywhere recognized as a man of
ability and a useful and valuable citizen, whose death was a loss to the city.
He was a member of the First Congregational Church.
Mr. Bassett was prominent in political life, in which he exerted a
considerable influence up to the time of his death. He was a member of the old
common council in 1887 and 1889, and of the board of aldermen from Ward 8 in
1990-91. On June 4, 1902, Gov. W. Murray Crane appointed him to the board of
police commissioners, for a three years' term, and on June 19, 1903, he was
named by Gov. John L. Bates to be chairman of the board. When his term
expired, Governor Douglas, a Democrat, was in office, and James Tansey was
appointed to succeed him. On May 22, 1907, Mr. Bassett was again appointed to
the board by Gov. Curtis Guild, Jr., and in June, 1908, was designat
chairman, his term to expire the first Monday in June, 1910. Mr. Bassett also
served as a trustee of the public library from 1891 to Feb. 4, 1901, when he
resigned to take the police commissionership. He was again appointed March 31,
1906, resigning June 19, 1908. He was a member of the Old Colony Historical
Society. He died July 26, 19109, at his home on High street, Fall Rive
On Sept. 13, 1882, Mr. Bassett was married to Harriet Minerva Borden,
born June 15, 1856, daughter of the late Col. Thomas J. and Mary E. (Hill)
Borden, of Fall River, Mass., and a direct descendant of Richard Borden, of
Borden, in the County of Kent, England, who came to America in 1635 and
settled at Portsmouth, R.I., from whom her descent is through John Borden and
his wife Mary (Earle), Richard Borden (2) and his wife Innocent (Wardell),
Thomas Borden and his wife Mary (Gifford), Richard Borden (3) and his wife
Hope (Cook), Thomas Borden and his wife Mary (Hathaway), Col. Richard Borden
and his wife Abby W. (Durfee) and Col. Thomas J. Borden and his wife Mary E.
(Hill). Mrs. Bassett died Oct. 16, 1904.
Five children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Bassett: Thomas Borden, born
Aug. 24, 1883; Frederick Waterman, born April 23, 1885, who died Sept. 26,
1904; Margaret, born Jan. 26, 1888; Charles French, born April 5, 1891, who
died Dec. 26, 1891; and Constance, born Jan. 19, 1896. 
Bassett, George Fitz Henry (I05777)
 
3640 Reuben Coffin 2/22/1787 - 2/21/1868
Part 48: Origins of Lysander, Plainville, and Jacksonville a
Described

Reuben Coffin and his bride of two years arrived in Lysander, Onondaga County
with their clumsy covered wagon in 1810. It gave a final lurch and came to a
creaking stop before the Palmer's log cabin one May day in that year. The trek
from Washington county had been long and tedious, with the homespun lin
cover to the heavy wagon their only shelter from the noonday sun. One of the
last nights on the trail had been spent in camp in what is now the heart of
Syracuse, the present site of the Lincoln store. A few days were spent in the
Palmer cabin while the men fashioned a similar one farther east, on the bank
of a swift stream. Here on Lot 37 lay the 600 acres of land claimed by Reuben
and Sarah Bassett Coffin. Here beneath the tall pines that grew along t
stream, the women of the settlement gathered on wash day to make use of the
excellent spring water, and exchange bits of news, and assist each other in
daily tasks. Not far from the spring and near the cabin, Reuben hung an iron
kettle on a tripod for cooking and general purposes.


Last Will and Testament of Reuben Coffin
County Book #34, Vol. #M, Page #90

In the matter of proving the last will and testament of Reuben Coffin,
deceased, Onondaga County, NY. Be it remembered that heretofore upon the
petition of Edward Bently and Robert Coffin, the executors named in the last
will and testament of Reuben Coffin, late of the town of Lysander in sa
county, deceased, in said county for that purpose, to the Surrogate of said
county, a citation was duly issued in this matter which citation with t
proofs of service thereof was thereafter duly returned to said Surrogate, and
which said petition and citation, with the proofs of service thereof, are now
on file in the office of said Surrogate. And thereupon the last will and
testament of the said Reuben Coffin, deceased, with the proofs thereof were
produced and are as follows to wit:
I, Reuben Coffin, of the town of Lysander in the County of Onondaga and State
of New York of the age of seventy five years and being of sound mind and
memory do make publish and declare this my last will and testament in manner
following that is to say after paying all my debts and funeral charges I give
and devise to my wife Sarah Coffin all my personal and real estate lying and
being in the town of Lysander, county of Onondaga, State of New York during
her natural life excepting, what I hereby set apart to my son E.B. Coffin. To
my son E.B. Coffin I give thirty acres of land lying and being in the state of
Iowa, county of Tama, being the same deeded to be by E.B. Coffin and Almira
his wife bearing date Sept. 22nd 1857 and also a Judgement obtained in said
State of Iowa for the sum of about two hundred and twenty dollars the same as
he has a power of attorney to collect. And after the decease of my said wife
my property is to be divided between my children as follows, first to my son
Robert Coffin five hundred dollars and to my son Alexander M. Coffin fi
hundred dollars. The remainder of all that may be left to be divided in equal
shares with my sons Jacob Coffin, Robert Coffin, and Alexander M. Coffin and
my daughters Harriet Borgardus, Elizabeth Chaffee, Sally Ann Harrington,
Hepsibah Woodruffe, Susan Fuller, and Mary Bentley and to their heirs after
them.

I hereby appoint Edward Bently and Robert Coffin Executors of this my last
will and testament hereby revoking all former wills by me made. In witness
whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal this thirtieth day of August A.D.
1862. Reuben Coffin L.S. 
Coffin, Reuben (I03215)
 
3641 Richmond Times-Dispatch, 9 Jan 2006
Ruby Batten "Aunt Ruby" Bassett

Ruby Batten Bassett "Aunt Ruby", 97, a resident of Highland Springs for over
60 years, passed away peacefully at her home Saturday, January 7, 2006. She
was preceded in death by her husband of 73 years, Wilber Bassett. She will be
deeply missed by her sister and her many nieces and nephews, who along with
all of her family and friends, have loved and appreciated her gentle, caring
and creative ways. Her life was an inspiration to everyone who knew her.
Friends may call at the Nelsen Funeral Home, 4650 S. Laburnum Ave., 2 to 8
p.m. Monday, January 9, and Tuesday, January 10, where funeral services will
be conducted Wednesday, January 11, at 1 p.m. Interment Washington Memorial
Park. Memorial donations may be made to Henrico Volunteer Rescue Squad. 
Batten, Ruby (I21552)
 
3642 Robert Inglis Bassett of Lowell, MA

Mr. Robert Inglis Bassett of Lowell, MA died early Tuesday morning, June 29,
2004 at his son's home in Hampton Beach, NH.

Born in Lowell, MA on October 4, 1927, the son of Cyrus W. and Mabel (Inglis)
Bassett.

He was the husband of Margaret M. (Scanlon) Bassett with whom he had
celebrated their 55th wedding anniversary on June 18, 2004.

He was a graduate of Keith Academy with the class of 1946, and attended
Merrimack College. He was a Coast Guard veteran of WWII, and a Navy Veteran of
the Korean War serving on the USS Kleinsmith APD-134.

Mr. Bassett wintered in Marathon, Florida where he was a parishioner of the
San Pablo Church in Marathon, as well as a parishioner and member of the Holy
Name Society at Sacred Heart Church in Lowell, MA. He was a member of t
American Legion in Denver, CO, the Lowell Elks, and a member of the Greater
Lowell Roadrunners. Mr. Bassett was an avid runner and finished the Boston and
New York Marathons. He was employed in his earlier years with Courier Citizen
in Lowell, and most recently at Simon & Schuster Publishing Co. in Needham, MA
until his retirement in 1996.

Besides his loving wife he is survived by two sons and their spouses, D
Robert and Marilyn (Ray) Bassett of Hayes, KS, Thomas and Carol (Spinde
Bassett of Urbana, IL, three daughters and their husbands, Martha and Thomas
Dufresne of Hollis, NH, Mary Bassett-Stanford and Daniel Stanford of Acton,
MA, Ann and Richard Bienvenue of Lowell, MA, two brothers and a sister-in-law,
LTC Cyrus W. Bassett, US Army, Ret. and Mary Bassett of Jericho, VT, Re
Joseph Bassett USAF of Corpus Christi, TX, nine grandchildren, Sarah Bassett
and Timothy Bassett both of Hayes, KS, Caitlin Dufresne and Margaret Dufresne
both of Hollis, NH, Nicholas Bassett and Rebecca Bassett both of Urbana, IL,
William Stanford, Robert Stanford, and Elizabeth Stanford all of Acton, MA, as
well as numerous close family friends.


FUNERAL NOTICE

Robert I. Bassett, of Lowell, MA died June 29, 2004.
- Visiting hours Thurs. 2 to 7 and 7 to 9PM.
- Funeral Fri at 8:30 from the Dolan Funeral Home 106 Middlesex St. Chelmsford
- Funeral Mass at 9:30 at Sacred Heart Church in Lowell
- Burial in St. Patrick Cemetery, Lowell, MA
- Memorial may be made in Robert's name to the Portsmouth Home Health a
Hospice, 95 Brewery Ln. Unit 11, Portsmouth, NH 03801.

Arrangements by Dolan Funeral Home 978-251-4041. 
Bassett, Robert Inglis (I24480)
 
3643 Rockford Register Star, Illinois, 12 Nov 1999
Carol Bassett Smith, 77

KENTS STORE, Va. - Carol Bassett Smith of Kents Store died Saturday, Nov. 6,
1999, one week before her 78th birthday. She was born Nov. 13, 1921, in
Philadelphia, the daughter of Edward Sebring and Alice (Ross) Bassett. She
grew up in Rockford and graduated from Central High School, class of 1939.
Also graduated from Duke University and was a member of Pi Beta Phi sorority.
While there, she was one of the beauty queens, and also met her future
husband, U.S. Marine Richard B. Smith. While Richard served in the Mari
Corps, the family moved frequently, stationed at several bases in the United
States and overseas. Richard attained the rank of colonel before retiring.
Carol was a member of DAR, Fluvanna Historical Society and Fluvanna Gardens
Club. Their home was built in 1720 and was beautifully restored by their sons.
She especially loved her dogs and feeding the birds on their acreage. Survivors
include husband, Richard, six sons and seven grandchildren. Services will be
at 2 p.m. Friday, Nov. 12, in St. John Episcopal Church, Kents Store, with
arrangements by Sheridan Funeral Home. 11-11-2 
Bassett, Carol Sebring (I24215)
 
3644 Rockford Register Star, Illinois, 20 Sep 2001
Mary Sue Bassett, 74

ROCKFORD - Mary Sue Bassett, 74, of Rockford died Monday, Sept. 17, 2001, in
Rockford Memorial Hospital after a long illness. Born Aug. 15, 1927, in
Rockford, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Harry S. Compton. Married Barton B. Bassett
in Rockford on Feb. 14, 1952. He predeceased her on Aug. 18, 1988. She was
employed in the classified ad department at the Rockford Register Star for
more than 20 years. Member of Second Congregational Church, Junior League of
Rockford and a volunteer for Rockford Memorial Hospital Auxiliary. Graduated
from West High School and Lake Forest College. Survivors include daughter,
Elizabeth, sons, Edward Sebring Bassett II of Lebanon, Ohio, and David Barton
Bassett grandchildren, Katherine, Amy, Daniel and Audrena. Graveside service
at 10 a.m. Friday, Sept. 21, in Greenwood Cemetery, with the Rev. R. Haines
Moffat, minister of pastoral care at Second Congregational Church,
officiating. No visitation. In lieu of flowers, memorial gifts to American
Cancer Society. Burpee-Wood Funeral Home, 420 N. Main St., is assisting the
family. 9-19-2.  
Compton, Mary Sue (I24218)
 
3645 Ross-Bassett Story
(An account of pioneer days in Dakota)
By Mrs. L.V. (Mary E. Ross) Coulter

My father, William Cashes Ross, and my mother, Clara Bassett, were
married in the year 1872 at Kirksville, Missouri. They then came with father's
father and mother, namely William Ross and Nancy Jane Molineaux Ross, to
Minnesota, where father's folks settled on land near the city of Minneapolis.
To father and mother, who were both courageous and ambitious, came word of
alluring opportunities out in the new land of the Dakotas. So father ventured
west to Dakota Territory, squatting on land where the city of Grand Forks,
North Dakota now stands. This was the year of 1878. There father built a claim
shanty 12' by 14', near the Great Northern right-of-way, for James J. Hill was
then making a survey for his railroad.
It was there on June 2nd, 1879 that the writer of this story, Mary
Edna Ross, was born and spent her earliest childhood. Some memories of those
early days remain; how, as the work on the railroad progressed, mother allowed
us children to stand on a table and look through our one small window to watch
our father as he worked along the railroad as section boss. Another time he
was running an engine, perhaps of a work-train or switch-engine, I cannot be
sure. He was mechanic and a blacksmith, having learned his trade in Missouri.
Mother and father were now blessed with three children, their second
child, Emilie, having been called by our Heavenly Father, and she was laid to
rest at Grand Forks, Dakota Territory. Mother was a Christian and would say,
"Thy will be done." She taught us to sing the songs she loved by the
firelight of our stove, or the light of the moon which shone through our
unblinded windows.
Father soon moved to Turtle River and on March 15, 1886, another son,
Clarence was born. From there we moved by team to Manvel, North Dakota, where
father worked for some time in a sawmill.
By now the railroad was building west. Father did not want to lose out
letting too many go ahead of him. Again he loaded the family possession
Among these was a sort of cupboard with screened doors known as a milk safe,
which mother felt could just as well be left behind, as she did not thi
there would be cows in the region where they were going. Father argued the
safe might come in handy and he had his way.
Father had heard of Devils Lake and had received a newspaper printed
at Villard, Dakota Territory, so thither he was bound. We arrived at Villard
after days and days of travel. While the horses drank from a creek, father
walked up the hill where a man stood in the door of a shanty. Seeing him he
called, "Hi, sir, how far to Villard?" The man smiled and said, "This is
Villard." He continued, "It belongs to me. Bring your family and come over."
So father called back to mother and she climbed down, and with all the little
flock walked up to the cabin, there to meet the editor of "The Villard
Leader", whose name was R.H. Copeland. He advised father to continue on to
Minot, so we camped there that night and moved on the next day. It was very
hot weather, and trouble was forthcoming for one of our horses took sick and
died. Very well I remember that mother shed a few tears. Father asked her if
she wanted to go back home, but she only shook her head and said, "Let's rest
here awhile." So a small tent was pitched on a lake shore.
It was while we were there that some discouraged folks who were headed
east came upon us and, as father always said, we "struck up an acquaintance."
While they had no horses to trade, they did have an old ox, well broke to work
with a horse. Then and there did the milk safe prove its worth. These folks
wanted the milk safe and father wanted the ox, so the trade was made, and we
were on our way again. A day or two farther on we came upon some settlers with
some ponies. They were not "broke" to drive, but they wanted father's ox, and
so another trade was made.
In those days a good many teams were freighting between Minot a
Bismarck. One of them met us, and in talking to the driver, father learned
that they were badly in need of a blacksmith at Minot. So then and there he
left mother with the covered wagon and family, and rode one of the horses to
Minot, telling us he would send someone to bring us in. This, of course, took
a day or two. As if it were yesterday, I recall just how the man looked as
he rode up to our wagon and said, "Mrs. Ross, you must be a brave woman
Mother smiled and agreed with him, and in a day or two we arrived at Minot
late at night. I was awakened by mother saying, "Wake up, dear, and see your
father. He is shoeing horses." Just at the same moment I got the sme
food, for someone was cooking supper for us, using the same fire at whi
father worked while he was shoeing horses. A lean-to had already been built on
the side of this shop. It was of boards, inch thick lumber, and covered with
tar paper. The next morning a floor was laid and we moved in. No sooner was
this accomplished than mother was called on by some railroad overseer w
came to ask her if she would bake bread to help feed the men then at work on
the railroad. So two large sheet iron stoves were moved in, and mother began
the task of baking night and day. I remember she used the bottom half of two
flour barrels for mixing pans. This she continued to do until one May morning
in 1887 when a little daughter was born to her. While mother was still
confined to her bed, Minot had its first fire. It was a serious one, for it
burned almost every small business house along the street.
By this time father had been appointed to the office of sheriff, and
had moved the family into a more substantial frame building. A heavy post had
been put through the floor into the ground in the center of this one-ro
building. It served a double purpose, for while it supported the roof, at the
same time it was used as a hitching post for such prisoners as were of a
desperate type. Here they would be chained both hand and foot. At night father
went to bed with them chained to himself; for as yet, Minot had no jail. When
friends asked mother if she weren't afraid, she would say, "Oh, no, men have
lots of respect for little children." The Indians at that time were not to be
trusted. And, while they were the cause of many anxious days and nights, no
harm ever came to us from them. Mother felt the Indians were quite considerate
because they took only about one-half of whatever food they found. For
instance if there were two loaves of bread, they took one, and with gestures,
explained, "One for you, and one for me."
Father soon tired of Minot as a home. The stockmen were now gaining
way, and he was induced to take charge of a large band of sheep some thirty-five
miles southeast of Minot, out yonder in the region of what is now Velva. So
again we were off in our covered wagon, bound for a new home, this time in a
log cabin on the Mitchell Ranch. It was a bitter cold winter, and feed and
water were scarce. The sheep died by the hundreds, and by spring father had
had enough of the sheep business. However, some stockmen living along t
Mouse River persuaded him to take some five hundred head of cattle to a summer
camp at some distance, in order to save the hay and feed along the river for
the winter time. So again we were on our way.
This time a wagon load of lumber with which to build a house
accompanied us. Father and my brothers drove the cattle. It was only a two-day
trip to the new location known as Cottonwood Lake, about seven miles north of
Dogden (now known as Butte). In the lake there was quite a large island. Thus
we would have protection from the cattle in case there should be a stampede.
It proved to be a beautiful home spot, and mother and we children were
extremely happy there.
On the island there was quite a variety of wild fruits, and the wild
songbirds and game. We caught some young wild geese, clipped their wings and
tamed them. We had a rowboat which we used to cross the lake to a spring for
all our drinking water. On our way we could catch fish for dinner. We made
pets of the sand hill cranes which followed us about like pet dogs, and
usually called us early in the mornings. We were up at daybreak and to bed at
dark. A lamp was never lit unless someone became ill during the night; which
was seldom indeed. Summer, as mother said, passed all too soon. The bleak cold
weather of fall came on. It was time to go the twenty-five miles to winter
range at a place known as Pendroy, which, by the way, was the post office at
which we had gotten our mail through the summer months.
We lived that winter on the bank of the Mouse River in a large one-
room house, and we children walked about two miles to school. In 1890, along
with the March winds, came another little sister. Times were very hard and
father decided he better head back to Minot, where he might get wor
When we were settled again in Minot, father became ill from a wound he
received when shoeing horses, and was unable to work until late in the summer.
He then went east to earn what he could in the harvest fields for the winter.
When harvest was over, he came home suffering great pain all the time. Mother
persuaded him to go to Grand Forks, North Dakota (North Dakota had become a
state in 1889) for medical aid. There Dr. H. M. Wheeler operated on his limb,
and after a time he came home, only to suffer much the same as befor
In July, 1891, we had the added happiness of another little sister who
came to live with us. That autumn father decided we could not live in Minot
where there was rent to pay and other expenses of living in town. So he moved
us twenty-five miles east of Minot to a log cabin on the bank of the Mouse
River. This cabin was large and had two windows, but only a dirt floor. But
that made little difference, for there was plenty of wood to burn, water to
use and fish and wild game a-plenty. Again father took care of sheep belonging
to the First National Bank of Minot, and so we lived on.
There was a school about one mile from our home, which we attended. In
this school there was a teacher and about fifteen scholars, with five little
Rosses making up the number.
During the summer of 1892, the Soo Railroad came up the valley past
our home. This brought with it lots of excitement and made life more
interesting for mother and all of us. About one and a half miles from us a
town was started which was named Velva. That fall, an epidemic of typhoid fever
broke out at Minot, and father went here to help nurse county patients. Mother
and we children, with a sheep herder were left to care for home and the sheep.
Nothing very exciting ever happened in our little household.
Mother received lots of letters from her home back east, and sometimes
a package would come with some little treat for us all. We children would look
forward to those packages so much that we would walk day after day to the post
office, only to come home disappointed and some days almost frozen. On one of
those occasions mother comforted us by telling us not to give up, for there
would be a package for us in a few days. Full well she knew, for on December
5th, 1892, she gave birth to a son who was named Henry Ernest. Oh, wh
package of joy, for we were tiring of baby sisters. Our much loved baby
brother was about a month old before father ever saw him. Father was very fond
of his little ones, but inclined to be gruff in his speech. Looking at the new
baby boy, he said, "Hey, there, soldier, how did you get here?". This of
course amused us all. Little did mother or father know then or even dream that
in time this son would grow to manhood, and then one day he would enlist in
the World War as a soldier with the United States Marine Corps, there to serve
and finally on August 28th, 1919, give his life by drowning in the Artibonite
River in Haiti, where troops had been retained to keep order even after the
Armistice was signed. Henry Ernest Ross enlisted at Billings, Montana and at
the time of his tragic death was with the 36th Company, 2nd Regiment, U.S.
Marine Corps. His last address was Port au Prince, Haiti. Mother was spared
this great sorrow as she was called to her Heavenly home when he was but five
years of age. In the mean time, two more little sisters had come, and when the
youngest was ten days old, mother was called from her earthly home, On October
14th, 1897.
Clara Bassett Ross was the daughter of Robert Bassett and Mary
Elizabeth Farlin Bassett. They were of New England stock. Tradition has it
that there was a Bassett on the "Mayflower", and afterwards large numbers of
that name came to America on the good ship "Fortune". Robert Bassett lost his
mother in his infancy, and his father when a boy of seven. He grew to manhood
in Granger and Lincoln County, Ohio. Then he went to Athens County where he
met and married Mary Farlin. Both were of Scotch ancestry, and of strong
Christian faith. They raised a large family and are resting now in a cemetery
at Kirksville, Missouri.
William Ross was the oldest son of William Ross and Nancy Jane Ross.
The Ross family originally came from Scotland, and settled in Ireland where
Grandfather William Ross was born and grew to manhood. He then came to America
and, at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, on the 27th day of October, 1840, in
accordance with the law, he became a citizen of the United States. William Ross
and Nancy Jane Ross reared a large family. They were of the Presbyterian
Church, lived for many years at Minneapolis, Minnesota, and are buried there
in Lakewood Cemetery. My mother, Clara Bassett Ross, died October 14th, 1897
at Williston, North Dakota, and is buried at Williston in the Riverview
Cemetery. On her tombstone there has been inscribed the name of her soldier
son, Henry Ernest Ross, whose body was never recovered from the water. Father
had moved his family to Williston, North Dakota in 1895.
After mother's death he went west to Montana, then on to Washington,
where he spent the last twenty years of his life in the employ of McCleary
Brothers Lumber Company. There he married again, and in 1920, at about the age
of eighty-two passed away and is buried in McCleary, Washingto
Twelve children were born to my parents. Six of them are now living.
I am the oldest of these, and have written out this record of their lives as a
tribute to my parents who suffered many hardships along with other pioneers.
Through it all they did not complain but carried on with the fine courage that
urged them always to do their best. I have also had in mind to honor my
brother, Henry Ernest, as a son of early pioneers of the Dakotas, a devoted
soldier, who, in the end, gave his life in the service of his country. In his
memory I was included on the Gold Star Mother's pilgrimage to the battlefields
of France and scenes of the World War, sailing on the "Roosevelt" on August
19, 1931, and returning in October on the "George Washington". Because of my
brother's service, I am a member of the Auxiliary of the Edgar M. Boyd Post of
the American Legion at Williston, North Dakota. 
Ross, Mary Edna (I15463)
 
3646 Rushville Republican, 12 Apr 2005
Alford obit

Clara Bassett Alford, 102, of Greensburg, died Monday, April 11, 200
Morning Breeze Nursing Home in Greensburg.

Born Aug. 11, 1902, in Shelby County, she was the daughter of George and Rose
(Gray) Bassett, both deceased. She married George Henry Alford in 1927; he
preceded her in death in 1979.

Mrs. Alford lived on farms in Rush and Shelby counties most of her life. She
was a 1920 graduate of Shelbyville High School and also attended Purdue
Homemaker's School. She had been active in Farm Bureau and the B.P. Club. She
was a member of Milroy United Methodist Church for more than 70 year

Survivors include three daughters, Sarah (Mrs. Fred) Deiwert of Greensburg,
Mary (Mrs. Herb) Richey of Lexington, Ky., and Ruth Stevens of Glenwood; 11
grandchildren; and 14 great-grandchildren.

Besides her parents and husband she was preceded in death by two sisters.

Services will be at 11 a.m. Friday at Carmony-Ewing Harrison Street Funeral
Home in Shelbyville. Burial will follow in Forest Hill Cemetery in
Shelbyville. Visitation will be from 4 to 8 p.m. Thursday at the funeral home.

Memorial contributions may be made to Milroy United Methodist Church or the
Hospice of Shelby or Decatur County. 
Bassett, Clara (I20823)
 
3647 Rutland Herald, 19 Dec 2005
Ruth A. Taylor

BRIDGEWATER CORNERS - Ruth Abbie Badger Taylor, 89, died Dec. 16, 2005, at her
home.

She was born Dec. 3, 1916, in Pomfret, the daughter of George W. Badger and
Bertha A. (Bassett) Badger.

She graduated from Woodstoock High School in 1934 and from Northampton
Commercial College in 1935.

She married Vaughan Taylor on Oct. 8, 1939, in South Pomfret.

Earlier, Mrs. Taylor had worked for C.C. Frost for six and half years. Later,
she was a bookkeeper for Bridgewater Woolen Mill for 21 years.

She was a member of Bridgewater Congregational Church, the woman's club at the
church and The New England Club and the Vermont Club, both in Florid

Survivors include her husband of Bridgewater Corners; a son, Sargent of New
Hartford, Conn.; three granddaughters; a great-grandson and two great-
granddaughters; and a number of nieces, nephews and cousins.

She was predeceased by two brothers, Everett Badger and George Badger; and two
sisters, Rachael Badger and Reba Badger.

Calling hours will be from 6 to 8 p.m. Monday, Dec. 19, 2005, at the Cabot
Funeral Home, 1 Rose Hill in Woodstock.

The funeral service will be held at 11 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2005, at
Bridgewater Congregational Church in Bridgewater. Burial will be in Reverside
Cemetery in Woodstock.

In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions may be made to Norris Cotton Cancer
Center, 1 Medical Drive, Lebanon, NH 03766. 
Badger, Ruth Abbie (I14851)
 
3648 Sacramento Bee, 30 Nov 2007
Francis "Eileen" Covey (Picture included)

Born March 26, 1923 to Clifford & Helen Bassett (deceased) in Rochester, NY.
She passed away on November 24, 2007 in Sacramento, CA. She graduated from Our
Lady of Mercy High School in 1941. In her early 20's she was a professional
singer, but retired to marry and raise a family. The family moved to CA in
1953. She always managed to be working part-time while raising her children.
Moved to Sacramento in 1974 where she and her husband, Claude Covey (deceased)
started their business, B&W Security Services. At the age of 64, Eileen became
a Private Investigator after her husband of 40 years passed away. She was an
active member of CALI until she retired. Eileen was a cherished Daughter, Mom,
Grandmother & Great-Grandmother. She is survived by her 5 children, Dianne
Mastright, Cheryl Duke, Colin Covey, Casey Covey and Kelly Robinson - 13
grandchildren and 17 great-grandchildren - family in NY - and many wonderful
friends. Services will be held at Lind Brothers in Carmichael, 4:
Friday, November 30, 2007 with a celebration of her life following at t
Eastern Gardens Co-op. 
Tiffany, Frances Eileen (I17256)
 
3649 Salem Evening News, August 28, 1973
Mrs. Ruth M. White

SALEM - Ruth M. (Bassett) White, widow of Ernest H. White of 65 Dunlap
St., died Monday morning at Salem Hospital following a lengthy illnes
She was retired from Daniel Low and Co. after 22 year
Born in Athol, Mass., she was the daughter of the late Harry and Emily
(Preble) Bassett.
She was a member of the First Universalist Church of Salem and a
member of the Gamma Sigma Chi of the church.
Survivors include a daughter, Mrs. Virgina Killeen of Salem, ?
grandchildren and 9 great-grandchildren, a brother, Carl Bassett of Florida; a
sister, Mrs. Gladys Smith of Arizona, also several nieces and nephew
Funeral services Wednesday at 11 a.m. at the Full Memorial, 84
Washington Sq., Salem. 
Bassett, Ruth Marjorie (I24078)
 
3650 Salt Lake Tribune, 27 Dec 2007
Beulah Marie Petersen Bassett (Picture included)
3/3/1919 - 12/23/2007

Beulah Marie Petersen Bassett was born March 3, 1919 in Deseret, Utah, the
seventh child of Nels L. and Edith Bennett Petersen. She died Dec. 23, 2007 at
her home in Delta, Utah of causes incident to age. Beulah grew up in Hinckley,
Utah, attending Hinckley Elementary and graduating from Hinckley High School
in 1936. She attended LDS Business College, Brigham Young University and the
Holy Cross School of Nursing. She married Ralph Henry "Bud" Bassett in
Hinckley, Utah on March 8, 1939. Beulah and Bud lived with Grandpa Bassett
until 1943 when they purchased a farm in Sutherland, Utah where they ma
their home for the next thirty years. Bud passed away on March 25, 1973.
Shortly thereafter, Beulah moved to Delta. Prior to her marriage, Beulah worked
for the Commercial Bank of Nephi. Beulah was a stay-at-home wife and mother
until her youngest was old enough to go to school. She then embarked upon a 23
year career with Farmer's Home Administration, first as a County Office Clerk
and finally as an Office Management Assistant for the states of Utah and
Nevada. Beulah was a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day
Saints, serving in each of the auxiliaries. She was Coordinator of the Jr.
Sunday School and coached the girl's softball team. She enjoyed golfing,
bowling and spending time in her garden. Beulah enjoyed traveling throughout
the world with family and friends. She especially enjoyed Florida and N
York, but found that nowhere could compare to Delta, Hinckley and Sutherland.
Beulah is survived by four children: Jacquelyn (Doug) Turner, Paige (Jerry)
Hawley, Howard (Syd) and Scott (Claudia). She leaves behind 19 grandchildren,
49 great grandchildren and two great-great grandchildren, as well as siblings:
Grethe Shipp, Margaret Jensen, Ward (NaRae) Petersen and Barbra (Dell) Ashby.
She was preceded in death by parents: Nels and Edith; husband: Bud, son-in-
law: Judd Hardy; grandson-in-law: Kenneth Shumway; great grand-daughter: Anna
Bassett; brothers: Lowell, Wayne and Homer Petersen; sisters: Nelda Memmott
and Dorathy Damron. Funeral services: Saturday, Dec. 29, 2007 at the
Sunderland 2nd Ward Chapel (3120 West 2600 North Delta) at 11 a.m. Friends
call at Nickle Mortuary (190 South Center Delta) Friday, 7-8 p.m. and on
Saturday at the church, 9:30-10:40 a.m. Burial Sutherland Cemetery. 
Petersen, Beulah Marie (I20561)
 

      «Prev «1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 ... 1051» Next»